585,991 active members*
4,725 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Autodesk CAM > Tool Library Tips/Tricks Fusion 360

Tool Library Tips/Tricks Fusion 360

Hi Everone, I'm new to pretty much everything and I'm getting ready to setup my tool library using Fusion 360. I'm wondering if anyone has an tips for a newbie. Thank you in advance, I appreciate your input very much.

Re: Tool Library Tips/Tricks Fusion 360

Does everyone just start out with the smallest bits? I'm assuming this is normal, but do you have a separate list for cutters, measuring devices, etc.

Is there anything that you wish you would have thought to do when you first started?

I went this route since I was new to CNC and didn't want to confuse myself needlessly. I took my tools and numbered them all. My starter set of End mills contained 20 end mills. Drill bits are all numbered. Those tools each have an entry in my tool library. I spent the time to define them all. 147 tools in total. I did this as well in the Mach3 tool library. When I call the tool in Fusion that 's the tool I call at the mill.

I relied on FSWizard Lite to get some beginning numbers for RPM's for each tool. I then made adjustments to those tools as I used them more and more and found what works for me.

It was more easy for me to keep track of them this way.

Thanks Kenny, I take it it's worth it to enter all the details and feed n speeds right off the bat.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

It was for me. You will go back for a while and change values but you'll do that anyway when you find things that work well on your machine.

Thanks for the help bud, much appreciated!

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk