585,754 active members*
4,260 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Controller & Computer Solutions > Need help selecting breakout board/motion controller

Question Need help selecting breakout board/motion controller

I'm somewhat new to building CNC's, but have a firm enough grasp on them do to my previous work and hobbies.

Right now I am working on three things, two of which I have the same question on. I need a breakout board/ motion controller and have a few questions.
    First for reference and explanations, I am strong in the mechanical and electrical (such as motors, not boards) components and how they work.
    I have a vague understanding in how breakout boards and stepper drivers work.
    I don't have the faintest clue about firmware manipulation.

The first machine is my personal one. It's my first build and has been ongoing for about 6 months now. It's from scratch and of my own design down to the welds in the frame. I "finished (not really)" it about two weeks ago, but I am just not happy with it. I am going to start re-building it, starting with it's biggest problem... It's DDSM3V5.0 usb breakout board (my advise to anybody, NEVER get one of these things.... I can't even begin to explain how many problems there are with it, and I don't even know all of the small (important) things about breakout boards).
    So I am looking for some recommendations for some Motion Controllers to replace this junk with and why. I'm looking for something a bit more high end but still reasonable ($100-350 range.)
    Also, not as important but some stepper drivers able to fully power nema 34 1090oz/in 5.6 amp stepper motors.
    Lastly, I want a higher end machine by the end of this, is it worth me building a cheap but good designated computer for it?