502,646 active members
7,010 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > CNC Router Parts > Master/Slave X axis side swap - does it matter?
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    274

    Master/Slave X axis side swap - does it matter?

    I decide to mount my E-track and trays on the right hand side of the X axis, as opposed to the right side which is shown in the instructions no the CNC router parts site.

    I did this because it exposes the slots for opening the E-track and makes it easier.

    The question is, does it matter which X-axis motor is hooked up a "X" vs "A"? Should X still be on the left, with A on the right, or is it just a matter reversing the settings in Mach3? Thinking that switching them will make them move in the opposite direction from "normal" ?


    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    86

    Re: Master/Slave X axis side swap - does it matter?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kosh View Post
    does it matter which X-axis motor is hooked up a "X" vs "A"?
    Hi Kosh, While you can certainly configure the machine with either X axis being X vs A (Slaved), I recommend staying with the documented convention regardless of where you install the cable trays.

    Thanks!

    -Nathan

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    6618

    Re: Master/Slave X axis side swap - does it matter?

    Yeah, you can run into trouble with homing the machine and trouble shooting assistance later on. Maybe even cable issues as below. I ran my slaved wire through the gantry along with the Y+ sensor.

    Regarding the cable track though, a small bent wire will pop those holder up. Long small allen wrench too. They snap snug, but pop open easy with just the right leverage.
    I can tell you that you will want that echain as close to your control box s you can get it comfortably. Most of the cables are plenty long, but I ran into an issue with the network cable and one of my motor cables was too short for my configuration.
    I need 3 20' and one 12' for the PRO 4824.
    Lee

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    274

    Re: Master/Slave X axis side swap - does it matter?

    @leeway

    Was thinking a paint can opener would work well too

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    6618

    Re: Master/Slave X axis side swap - does it matter?

    That might do. An angled awl would work or even a lock picking set. Not that I have one of those.

    In fact, I have the perfect tool for it. I haven't used it before and it came in some elcheapo set years ago. an angled screw driver.

    Attachment 298012
    Lee

Similar Threads

  1. Trying to swap slave axis
    By landarts in forum CNC Router Parts
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-13-2015, 05:36 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-27-2012, 11:45 AM
  3. CNC Master and Slave problem
    By cambridgecnc in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-01-2010, 04:04 AM
  4. master-slave servos
    By js412000 in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-09-2007, 07:36 AM
  5. Master and Slave servo
    By Builder in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-02-2004, 03:55 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •