585,969 active members*
4,513 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

complete newb here

Hey CNC heads

I am about to order a 24X48 unit from CNCRP but have a few questions so I ma looking for advice. First what I plan on using this CNC for is mostly small 1/4 acrylic cutting and engraving, secondly will be the occasional aluminum cutting.

What I know is I want to start with a 24X48 machine due to limited space and I plan on using the limit switches.

What I need help with is
    Standard VS. PRO
    plug and play or diy electronics package
    NEMA 23 or NEMA 34

Also is there any real money savings with just ordering the hardware kit? If you decide to be nice enough to leave a reply to my questions above, could you also tell me why I want the items you selected over the other?

Re: complete newb here

You mentioned aluminum, which is a harder material to cut. For that reason I'd suggest the Pro machine with the more powerful NEMA34. Regarding DIY or Plug and Play electronics, that is a personal decision. I decided to let them build it for me so I could focus on the rest of the machine. But you'd certainly know all about your machine if you built the electronics too. But for me, the extra cost was worth having a complete and tested electronics system.

Dgage

With me only cutting aluminum once or twice a year could I not slow down the feed rates to accomplish the cutting instead of spending the extra cash on a pro model?

No; with a less rigid machine you'll just make bad cuts more slowly.
    Andrew Werby
    Website