585,728 active members*
4,788 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > HURCO > VM20i ATC throwing tools

VM20i ATC throwing tools

Hey guys,

Urgent help needed!
    First off, I am new to machining and have very limited knowledge about how to solve problems so bare with me.

To explain what happend:

I ran a program in my VM20i with a data block to chamfer the contour on an aluminum bit. However, I have accidently placed the bit on the wrong fixture in the vise.
    This made the chamfer tool to run into the aluminum piece instead of running along the contour obviously. I stopped the program and had the tool out of the spindle to see if I had damaged the tool.

No big deal to be seen but when I places the tool back into the spindle and clamped it up and should engage the ATC to move the tool back in the carousel, it just fell down on the table. This tool is now placed on the bench instead and I was scratching my head.

I then had a look in the ATC diagnostics and saw nothing wrong which made me try yet another tool to see what happend. The ATC arm performed a tool change from the carousel and this time
    the ATC arm, just before it should clamp in the spindle, threw the tool away.

Something seems to be wrong with the ATC arm not clamping the tool properly in place. I have also checked the spring loaded plungers where the tool are located. They are not stucked and I can push a tool manually in place. It seems like those plungers dont holds the tool in place while performing a tool change?

I appreciate any input on this. Hurco´s support is closed and I´m going nuts here!

Cheers,
    Chris

Re: VM20i ATC throwing tools

Spindle out of alignment with ATC. Caused by the crash.

Atc arm is either out of alignment. or most likely the spindle orient is off due to crash.(skipped a couple of cogs on the spindle belt)