585,931 active members*
5,284 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Laser Engraving and Cutting Machines > Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine General Topics > I am buying a laser cutter! Budget is $30K must cut 2mm stainless thoughts?!

I am buying a laser cutter! Budget is $30K must cut 2mm stainless thoughts?!

Hey Guys,

I am new to this forum. I have come here in the past for help on various issues; most notably problems with setting up Mach3 on my Chinese desktop CNC Router.
    Anyway with the help of the forum I was able to figure it out! You guys are awesome.

What I need advise on:

I am going to buy a Laser cutter/engraver and have a budget of $30,000. I am brand new to this and have always outsourced my laser cutting work, but I want to bring it in house.

The first laser I thought would be great was a KERN HSE 150W or 200W. However new they are out of my price range and I can't seem to find any used one's for sale.

Requirements:

I don't care if it is new or used

The big one, must be able to cut through 2mm stainless steel.

hoping for 4'x8' ish bed size but not a deal breaker if it's smaller.

Fiber vs. C02? (Not sure, i've read pros and cons for both)

Must not require 3 phase power.

If used where to buy? beyond Ebay and laserresale.com

What's the deal with the Chinese lasers...Alibaba, ebay etc. Is it a bad idea?

While I probably won't be running it every day I do want a high throughput and reliable machine.

There are likely big questions I'm not thinking of here but any help pointing me in the right direction is greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Re: I am buying a laser cutter! Budget is $30K must cut 2mm stainless thoughts?!