584,802 active members*
4,926 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Birmingham Mills and Lathes

Hello

Has anyone had much experience from Birmingham mills and lathes? I have a few buddies who have them and like them, they bought them from www.innovativemachinery.net . I couldn't find them for any less on the internet anywhere and I searched hard. I haven't heard a single person complain yet but I wonder how they can get away with the cost being so low. Any insight would help I'm about to make a purchase.

smilenbseen, I seem to have upset a few folks when I gave my extremely low opinion of a new Birmingham 14 x 60 lathe so I will not repeat it. I have no experience with Birmingham mills therefore no opinion on them. As to low cost, "you get what you pay for or less." As to advice, the same is true. lol
    DZASTR

part true

I understand what you are saying partly. But manual machines have gotten worse over time not better. And these from what I've been told and understand are just copies of the older machines made. Some of them are exact copies. So in some instances it seems I'm getting a better machine paying less than someone paying more. So what saying goes with that. I've had a couple buddies say they were amazed by what they got for the price, I guess I'm looking more to hear if there's any bad stories because this may be the first thing that seems too good to be true and actually is.