584,842 active members*
4,130 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Have I just blown my PSU because I wired up a stepper controller wrong? PLEASE HELP!!

Have I just blown my PSU because I wired up a stepper controller wrong? PLEASE HELP!!

Hi all,

I'm brand new to stepper motors but have spent alot of time looking at online documentation and videos trying to understand how they work. The least of my worries was the correct wireing set-up as this appears to have been done so many times before. I selected the appropriate Nema motor and driver plus PSU and with the addition of an UNO I thought I was ready to play.

However when I attached the power cable to the PSU the power to the Stepper controller and turned it on it popped after about 1 second???? I don't know what I have done wrong and am looking for advice or help if possible?

Below is the email I sent to Omc-Stepper online who I bought the parts from, including a photo of how it was wired up.

Thanks again.

/////////////////

Hi,

I have recently bought a

1 No Nema 34 Hybrid 12Nm Stepper Motor
    1 No Stepper Driver ( MA860H )
    1 No 350W Power Supply ( S-350-60 )

I first set the Voltage to 110V using the switch on the side

I Attached the Power Cable

I Attached the V+ & V- to the stepper driver as shown in the image

I set the SW pins to 3.2 Amp for the Stepper motor attached.

I then turned it on.

Both the power light on the PSU and the Stepper controller lit green for about 1 second then the Power supply Popped! Now both the power suppy and I suspect the Stepper controller are fried?

I am sure I followed the wireing up information correctly.

Your quick response would be appreciated, I need to finish this stage of the product this week!

Please advise

Best regards

Jason

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/attach...d=306558&stc=1
    ///////////////////////