584,800 active members*
4,671 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Tormach PCNC 1100 ATC info - want to do it myself.

Cool Tormach PCNC 1100 ATC info - want to do it myself.

Hey all, I'm an automated machine designer/engineer. Want to add an ATC but because I'm a glutton for punishment (and own a CNC machine), I want to design one myself. Not looking to set the world on fire or compete with Tormach, it's just for fun and personal interest. Maybe save some money since I've got a lot of motors, cylinder, and other toys squirreled away already.
    Does anyone know where I can find intel on the electrical and signal interface? in other words, how Mach3/PathPilot tells the changer to do it's thing and how the changer tells the controller it's done and it can continue?

Quote Originally Posted by SoCalPlaneDoc View Post
    Does anyone know where I can find intel on the electrical and signal interface? in other words, how Mach3/PathPilot tells the changer to do it's thing and how the changer tells the controller it's done and it can continue?
    PathPilot would probably be the easier way to go. It's based on LinuxCNC so if you can get under the hood, it might all be in the confit files. I use straight LinuxCNC so not sure how much they have it locked down. LinuxCNC has a couple main confit files and can have a variety of things added to it like ladder programs for things like tool or pallet changers.

Re: Tormach PCNC 1100 ATC info - want to do it myself.

Mach3 IS the easiest way to go. All the info the machine needs is controlled from the M6start Macro, NO plc NO ladder is needed. Simply define teh actions in teh macro and Mach3 handles the rest.

(;-) TP