584,849 active members*
4,418 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Driver board and stepper motors?

Driver board and stepper motors?

Hello , I am new in cnc-world, so i have some questions.
    Can someone tell me, is this(4Axis TB6560) driver board is compatible with thise stepper motors (RS Components 8 wire 5V 1A) . And if they are compatible , what power suply should i use.
    Thank You in Advance.

Re: Driver board and stepper motors?

As far as the specs, they are compatible and will work together. For the best performance use the highest voltage that the board allows ( with some safety margin )

For now i have 12 V 15 A power supply and 24 V 5 A power supply .Which one i should choose or I need to buy new one ?And what kind of safety margin did you mean? I will use only two axes , not all of them.

Go for the 24 V 5A, that will do for these motors, I expect even running 4 of these. the 24 V will give higher speeds.
    With the safety margin, I mean that if the specs of the board are 36 volt, I prefer a powersupply that has a maximim output of 90% of the voltage for the driver. This is due to electronics tend to die fast if they get a over voltage. And motors could give a backcurrent to the driver which gives a voltage spike

Thanks for fast reply and explanation I was afraid not to burn the motors (or driver) with higher voltage, so i will connect them and try how they work Thanks again .

And for current , i will set it 25% for each motor right ? (25%*5A=1.25A the motors are 1A)

The TB6560 driver is not compatible with intelligent design of a machine. They are junk as any amount of searching on this site will tell you.
    James hosts the single best wiki page about steppers for CNC hobbyists on the net:
    http://www.piclist.com/techref/io/steppers.htm Disagree? Tell him what's missing! ,o)

Quote Originally Posted by cvetan View Post