585,917 active members*
3,681 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 4 123

Need design input

I'm a Mechatronics Engineering student at the University of Waterloo and I'm planning on building a CNC Mill for aluminum and wood. The XYZ extents will be 2' X 2' X 1'. I will model it after the attached image. I plan on using ball screws and profile linear rails from the manufacturers in china. I have a whole bunch of questions so I'm just going to list them and hope some get answered.

1. Can I expect to get near 0.001" to 0.003" accuracy under $1500?
    2. What grade of ball screw would be suitable? Is C5 accurate enough?
    3. Are 12 mm diameter ball screws sturdy enough?
    4. Is 1" X 2" X 0.065" Steel tube suitable for profile rails to be mounted to or do I have to use aluminum extrusion?
    5. What size stepper motors would be suitable for such a machine, assuming ball screws have 4 mm pitch.
    6. What kind of router would be suitable for wood and aluminum?
    7. What do industrial cnc mills use to get to a 0.0001" accuracy range?

I'd appreciate any advice!

Re: Need design input

My best advice as an engineer would be to go and find the answers to these questions yourself. I don't mean to sound like a dick, but in doing so you will know how you came to the answers and will be able to be flexible when things change. Doing a project like this in your spare time will give you a wealth of knowledge that you will be able to apply to many mechatronics problems. Also, I landed my first engineering job because I was able to present a bunch of "engineering" projects I had done outside of university.

A great place to find information on ball screws, linear guides, etc. is catalogues and datasheets from the major manufacturers (Bosch-Rexroth, Hiwin, etc.). All of these will have an engineering section that lays out all of the required calcs you need to do to arrive at a particular component choice.

Good luck!