585,560 active members*
3,383 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > Mechanical Calculations/Engineering Design > Not sure how to buy stuff that fits together.

Not sure how to buy stuff that fits together.

Hi all.

I'm not a mechanical engineer, but occasionally I need to build something.

Currently I want to attach a wheel assembly (truck) to a piece of tubing that rotates in a pillow bearing, so it can spin. So I bought a bearing with a 1-inch inner diameter, and a 1-inch-OD piece of metal tubing. Well, the tubing won't fit into the bearing. I guess that makes sense.

My caliper shows the ID of the bearing to be up to .999" (hard to measure accurately), and the OD of the tube to be 1.003".

Attachment 311902

Do people just grind down the tubing in a situation like this so it fits? I guess this is kind of a silly question, because what else is there to do? The next-smaller size tubing would not sit centered in the bearing, obviously.

I don't have a proper workshop, because I live in an apartment in L.A. Considering that situation, I have a lot of tools I suppose (drill press, table & miter saws, X/Y table). But for something like this, it means manually grinding away metal with sandpaper I guess. Any insight appreciated.

Gavin

Re: Not sure how to buy stuff that fits together.

Quote Originally Posted by stokestack View Post
    Hi all.

I'm not a mechanical engineer, but occasionally I need to build something.

Currently I want to attach a wheel assembly (truck) to a piece of tubing that rotates in a pillow bearing, so it can spin. So I bought a bearing with a 1-inch inner diameter, and a 1-inch-OD piece of metal tubing. Well, the tubing won't fit into the bearing. I guess that makes sense.

My caliper shows the ID of the bearing to be up to .999" (hard to measure accurately), and the OD of the tube to be 1.003".

Attachment 311902