512,825 active members
2,789 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > X2 cnc finished for now maybe
Page 35 of 53 25333435363745
Results 681 to 700 of 1045
  1. #681
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by HimyKabibble View Post
    When the full-function trial is up, you can get a free license for a restricted set of functions, but this "free" version still includes the most important 2D and 3D drawing capabilities. It's all spelled out in detail on the website.

    Regards,
    Ray L.
    Ray,

    Thanks. I'm aware of what the web-site says, but when my trial ran out and I was "downgraded" 3 of the 5 feature icons became disabled. What's left is "Create a Part" and "Combine Parts..." There is no longer a drawing feature that can be used to export a dxf, or print a drawing with dimensions. Also, no more 3D sketching. Yes, you can create the part in 2D, extrude it, and view it in 3D, but that's it. It's still neat, don't get me wrong.

    I take it you are not using Alibre Express?

    Wow... While I was typing the above, Alibre called to answer a question that I had emailed them a few minutes ago. No, the Express version does not do drawings, or exports, or any of the other things I mentioned before. BUT, they have Alibre on sale for 1/2 price, right now. So, Standard is $499.00. I may just bite the bullet and get the upgrade.

    Cheers,
    Don

  2. #682
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7087
    Quote Originally Posted by dleroi View Post
    Ray,

    Thanks. I'm aware of what the web-site says, but when my trial ran out and I was "downgraded" 3 of the 5 feature icons became disabled. What's left is "Create a Part" and "Combine Parts..." There is no longer a drawing feature that can be used to export a dxf, or print a drawing with dimensions. Also, no more 3D sketching. Yes, you can create the part in 2D, extrude it, and view it in 3D, but that's it. It's still neat, don't get me wrong.

    I take it you are not using Alibre Express?

    Wow... While I was typing the above, Alibre called to answer a question that I had emailed them a few minutes ago. No, the Express version does not do drawings, or exports, or any of the other things I mentioned before. BUT, they have Alibre on sale for 1/2 price, right now. So, Standard is $499.00. I may just bite the bullet and get the upgrade.

    Cheers,
    Don
    Oh! That is a pretty big gotcha. I've just been playing with it, not using it for any real work.

    Regards,
    Ray L.

  3. #683
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8151
    Quote Originally Posted by dleroi View Post
    Ray,


    Wow... While I was typing the above, Alibre called to answer a question that I had emailed them a few minutes ago. No, the Express version does not do drawings, or exports, or any of the other things I mentioned before. BUT, they have Alibre on sale for 1/2 price, right now. So, Standard is $499.00. I may just bite the bullet and get the upgrade.

    Cheers,
    Don
    I'd jump on that, they are already a lot cheaper than other 3D CAD programs.
    How long is the sale?
    Hoss
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

  4. #684
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by hoss2006 View Post
    I'd jump on that, they are already a lot cheaper than other 3D CAD programs.
    How long is the sale?
    Hoss
    Hoss,

    He said the sale goes through February. I'm going to get it.

    My only concern is that I haven't actually used the drawing features and that's what I want it for. I've seen one of yours, though, on a different thread and it looks good. Do the dimensions go in automatically?

    He also said they have a 30 day return policy and if it doesn't do what I need it to do I can return it.

    - Don

    P.S. I checked with an engineering buddy who has used it. He said that, while it isn't Solid Works, it's a heck of a good program for $1000 (I didn't tell him it was on sale)!

  5. #685
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    212
    You can pick up Solidworks 2008 for $400:

    http://softday.net/product_info.php?...69141215144b0c

  6. #686
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8151
    Quote Originally Posted by dleroi View Post
    Hoss,

    He said the sale goes through February. I'm going to get it.

    My only concern is that I haven't actually used the drawing features and that's what I want it for. I've seen one of yours, though, on a different thread and it looks good. Do the dimensions go in automatically?

    He also said they have a 30 day return policy and if it doesn't do what I need it to do I can return it.

    - Don

    P.S. I checked with an engineering buddy who has used it. He said that, while it isn't Solid Works, it's a heck of a good program for $1000 (I didn't tell him it was on sale)!
    Whatever dimensions or hole diameters etc. you used to create the 3D model
    can be automatically imported when making the 2D print.
    You can edit them and add more too.
    Makes it real simple.
    Looks like I got this week to decide to put the new mill on hold and jump on this.
    Hoss
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails X Axis Stepper Mount DRW.jpg  
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

  7. #687
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    231
    Quote Originally Posted by caleb105 View Post
    You can pick up Solidworks 2008 for $400:

    http://softday.net/product_info.php?...69141215144b0c
    How the heck is that so cheap? Full version? Damn...

  8. #688
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    881
    you know, for that price, i just might get a copy....
    Grizzly X3, CNC Fusion Ballscrew kit, 3 500oz-in bipolar steppers, 3 203v Gecko's, Linear power supply from Hubbard CNC, Mach 3, BOBcad Pro Art V22, Rhino.

  9. #689
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3655
    Anybody know of a good price on Solidcam?

    CR.

  10. #690
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8

    Alibre Software shipped in Plastic Bag to Calif

    Don
    I decided not to purchase the Alibre software for Two Reasons. First It was shipped to me in a Plastic Bag, By UPS, where it was Crushed, and Mauled, and one of the disks were Cracked, and the Case was Broken.

    This was a big RED FLAG which came up. How can i expect any company that wants me to Pay One thousand dollars for Software, which is sent in a Plastic
    Bag , which cost less than a dime, and insert One Thousand Dollars of Software in it, and have it stuffed under my Welcome Mat, shortly after it rained?
    Oh and by the way the the plastic cd container was broken, and wet. It was not very professional or ethical to do this. I was lower cost, but not high higher quality. Now, I am sure that Alibre probably has some good software, but their shipping department needs to be looked at.

    Am I wrong?

    Don

  11. #691
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    362
    Quote Originally Posted by Riceburner98 View Post
    How the heck is that so cheap? Full version? Damn...
    It's unlikely that it's a legal version of the software. :nono:
    If a reseller can sell it at that price, then the vendor would as well.
    Regards
    Geoff

  12. #692
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    31
    Has anyone actually bought SolidWorks for $400? There must be a catch. I couldn't tell from that web site. Student edition, maybe? The student editions that I've seen elsewhere are good for only a year, I think.

    People that paid $5,000 for it aren't going to be happy to hear this!

    Don, your shipping experience would give me pause, too. Did they refund your money?

    Hoss, I didn't mean to hijack this thread. Maybe we should move this discussion to a CAD thread (?).

    - Don

  13. #693
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3655
    Full program, Past version, OEM versions with disks only--NO MANUALS!

    http://softday.net/faq.php

    CR.

  14. #694
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8151
    Quote Originally Posted by dleroi View Post
    Has anyone actually bought SolidWorks for $400? There must be a catch. I couldn't tell from that web site. Student edition, maybe? The student editions that I've seen elsewhere are good for only a year, I think.

    People that paid $5,000 for it aren't going to be happy to hear this!

    Don, your shipping experience would give me pause, too. Did they refund your money?

    Hoss, I didn't mean to hijack this thread. Maybe we should move this discussion to a CAD thread (?).

    - Don
    You can get all kinds of software from china real cheap, legal licensed copies? No.
    An exact time of delivery depends on your location. Usually it takes 20-30 days. We ship from a country outside the US.
    They are also selling AutoCAD 2009 ($2399 retail) for $399 as well.
    Email Autodesk or Soildworks and ask if they support these products before you spend one nickel.
    Hoss
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

  15. #695
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4556
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  16. #696
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    922
    i bet it is but look- its only good for 12/24 months

  17. #697
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8151
    Thought i'd pass along a neat little program I found.
    When using the video window for the optical tool setter,
    it would be nice if it had an "always on top" option so that you don't have to jump back and forth between the main Mach 3 screen.
    Always On Top Maker does the trick and it's free.
    Just run it, load Mach then open the video window.
    Hit CTRL-ALT-T and now the video window will always be on top and you can click away on the Mach screen.
    Hit CTRL-ALT-T again and you can make it go back to normal. Cool.
    Hoss
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

  18. #698
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8151
    What a surprise.
    Starting to work on a trunnion table for the mill.
    Need much more holding torque than I could get from the lathe/4th axis,
    so I dug out the little 4 inch rotary table I got from Harbor Freight a long time ago.
    Always figured it would have too much backlash to be useful but after taking it apart, I was surprised how decent it really is.
    Made in India and not China might have something to do with it.
    I noticed a little setscrew that can push the worm closer to the gear and take out the backlash.
    Good to go.
    I'll add ball bearings instead of the bronze bushing for the drive shaft when I make the stepper mount.
    Dug out my old steel 5x12 tooling plate too for the table.
    Think I'll do some more recycling and use the tailstock from the old 7x10 lathe too.
    The rotary table needs a spacer for the tooling plate to clear anyhow so it should be the right height.
    Being a packrat has it's payoffs now and again.
    Hoss
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_3985_800x600.jpg   IMG_3987_800x600.jpg   IMG_4005_800x600.jpg  
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

  19. #699
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    2502
    It'll be fun to watch the trunion table come into being.

    RE the optical toolsetter, I am curious: do you use it much given you're set up to use the Mach3 edgefinder macros? When would you prefer one vs the other?

    Cheers,

    BW

  20. #700
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8151
    The optical toolsetter is sitting on a shelf so that should tell you.
    I can still see uses for it such as measuring the lead on an endmill that I need to sharpen in the 4th axis.
    Another project I need to get back to.
    Hoss
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

Page 35 of 53 25333435363745

Similar Threads

  1. Almost finished
    By steeltoes in forum T-Slot CNC building
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-10-2014, 03:11 PM
  2. It's finished
    By 4lowie in forum Australia, New Zealand Club House
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-14-2012, 02:09 PM
  3. Almost Finished
    By Kencor1 in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-21-2010, 05:41 AM
  4. Finished at last (well almost!)
    By Ali Kat in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-27-2009, 06:19 PM
  5. X2 cnc finished for now
    By hoss2006 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2007, 11:55 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •