585,951 active members*
3,802 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

MCodes & Slow Down etc

Ok,
    i am new to this forum and maybe this post is in the wrong place, anyway...

I am writing a CNC Interface for the Galil Controller. This is not a hobby.
    My question is related to using M Codes within a G Code program.

Should a CNC machine stop motion before activating an M Code ?

By that i mean if i have a lot of move segments and then there is say an
    M Code to turn something on, should motion decelerate to a stop before
    executing the M Code or should it be done "on the fly" ?

I am a programmer, not a CNC operator and the dnc files i have to work with
    could come from anywhere.

I have seen dnc files where the feedrate is high and then in the middle of bunch of move segments there might be an M Code which should turn something on, so i am not sure if it is the norm to pull up the machine
    at the target position before the M Code, then run the M Code, then move on.

Anyone who has experience in this your advice would be appreciated.

thanks
    Matt

This often can be set by choice in the controller as The M code function executed after the move command or The M code executed at the same time as the move command.
    Either way the it is common for the M code to register that it is done by waiting for a finish signal from the logic processor, and originating from the controlled action, For e.g. if an M code is not required to wait for any finish, like turning on the coolant, then a finish signal is returned automatically.
    The next block of code is not processed until the FIN signal is received.
    Either way, a move command should not be stopped or held up, once started, by an M code.
    I do alot of Galil programming in native language and use methods that download whole programs or segments, so the program run time is not really affected by the host PC.