586,024 active members*
4,176 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Another PRO4896 Begins...

Hi All... I am starting my build thread so I would stop hijacking bonesbr549's thread

Like bonesbr549 before me I want to thank and praise the team at CNCrouterparts for the excellent support. Cory's rapid response to my inquiries was shockingly refreshing. The time from order shipment was astonishingly brief.

I recently received my UPS tracking numbers and am anxiously awaiting the delivery. It will be a PRO4896 as the title says with all bells and whistles. NEMA 34 and the electronics to support an eventual 4th access.

I am making the transition from traditional woodworking to CNC. My day job is software engineering so I figured I'd combine my passions.

Looking forward to sharing my successes and fails as I set down this path.

Dave

Re: Another PRO4896 Begins...

Cool looking forward to following your progress. I'm in IT management and a former programmer. It will be a blast.

Thanks Bones... What did you do for end mills? I bought a few different ones to play with along with a spoil board flattener.

Quote Originally Posted by DaveCNCnewb View Post
    Thanks Bones... What did you do for end mills? I bought a few different ones to play with along with a spoil board flattener.
    ha, i've not got that far. I figure to start with the bits i have but do want to get some. what did you get and where?

Quote Originally Posted by bonesbr549 View Post
    ha, i've not got that far. I figure to start with the bits i have but do want to get some. what did you get and where?
    I went to toolstoday.com and picked up these...free shipping and 10% off on your first order. I'm also planning to pick up a bunch of less expensive bits to learn with.

Amana Tool AMS-134 8-Pc CNC General Purpose 1/4 Inch SHK Router Bit Set
    SKU: AMS-134