584,800 active members*
4,642 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Momus Design CNC plans > New Member - What Side Effects Will Lengthening the Momus Have?

New Member - What Side Effects Will Lengthening the Momus Have?

Hi all, I'm new to CNC zone and joined to learn more about homemade CNC machines, I have bought the plans for the momus, and am planning on building it. I like the straightforward solid design, and I am thinking of changing the machine to increase its length (depth). I know that some others here have done this same thing, what problems did this cause and how did you overcome them? I know that by increasing the gantry length you increase the possibility for binding or that the gantry will deflect out of square with the frame, but to me increasing the depth should not mean a large sacrifice in rigidity.

At what length would you say that belt drive starts to become impractical? In my head making a machine that has a 36 or 48 " depth is simply a matter of making a longer frame, which is a simple change that require mostly more wood fabrication, in which I am fairly confident in my abilities.

Thanks, Mitch

Re: New Member - What Side Effects Will Lengthening the Momus Have?

i wouldnt do it ....actually if you need to make a accurate cnc dont make the momus or make it with screws or even better with ballscrews...in the one i have built i am thinking of making the gantry fixed and put a moving table

Yes, I think you are right. After doing a little modelling in sketchup of the base, I realized that a wooden bed of that scale would likely not be very rigid without major modification. Also a router that is 48x16 would not be as useful for large work as a wider one, and widening would require changes to the design to prevent gantry deflection.
    I think I will use the plans as is, this is probably already an ambitious enough project for me already.