585,996 active members*
4,943 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > What Style of machine to build?

What Style of machine to build?

Im new at all this and new here:wave: but real interested got my electronic gear and ready to build a table, a chain drive is what I want and eventually move to pro type

Really want to hear your comments on what type of table to build

https://sp.yimg.com/xj/th?id=OIP.M68...=0&w=225&h=170

Re: What Style of machine to build?

Rule #1, is don't buy electronics first.

What size machine, and what do you want to do with it.

I'd highly recommend against using chain drive.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

What ger21 said.
    James hosts the single best wiki page about steppers for CNC hobbyists on the net:
    http://www.piclist.com/techref/io/steppers.htm Disagree? Tell him what's missing! ,o)

I built a chain drive machine and switched it to 1/2-13 threaded rod then to Acme fast turn. I learned alot about what works and what doesn't. You really need to share your expectations with us. To get the most focused advice.

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
    Deeds not words...
    VoltsAndBolts runs RC for the builder. http://www.voltsandboltsonline.com/ My Forum

Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    Rule #1, is don't buy electronics first.

What size machine, and what do you want to do with it.

I'd highly recommend against using chain drive.