585,974 active members*
4,318 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Very high precision DIY CNC router?

Hello...

I'm a noob here but I've been machining for awhile.

I need to build a 3 axis CNC router to fit these parameters:

I need to cut plastic, brass or nickelsilver sheet only (no steel) up to .065 thick using either 2x2 foot or 2x4foot sheets. These finished pieces will be varying shapes and 4.000 x 1.000 inches or less in finished size.

The issue is these cuts need to be as accurate in X and Y axes as possible.

I was thinking about maybe a design that the table moves and the column stays still, also possibly using a vacuum table to hold the work down.

Any ideas?

Thank you,
    kenny1

Hi Kenny. Welcome! And congrats on your first post.

There are many here who can offer much more experienced and better advice than me, but AFIK from reading here a while, a moving table design offers more ridgidity and accuracy than a moving gantry, but of course it requires more space.

Anyway, I'll bump this back up to the top of the New Posts list for you!

Hello... and thank you for welcoming me to your group.

I make various artistic objects from thin metals, so I thought a router table
    would work well. I have been reading many of the posts on this subject here, so now I have some idea of what I'm looking for.

I have plenty of room in my shop so space is not an issue. I went to a local
    junkyard awhile back and found about 8 feet of scrap 6"x6" 6061 aluminum square tubing with walls about 1/4" thick I think now would make a good head support.

I hate using doublestick tape to secure my work, because removing it from the worktable without bending it is sometimes almost impossible. So, I also have a junked air hockey table around here somewhere and I thought if I reversed the fan so it sucked in air instead of blew out I could have a vacuum table.

Thank you,
    Ken