585,717 active members*
4,120 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > designing a good CNC : need some orientation, am i over thinking stuff?
Page 1 of 3 123

designing a good CNC : need some orientation, am i over thinking stuff?

Hi all, i'm new to the CNC routers domain, although i'm familiar with 3D printing and the construction of a 3D printer.
    I'd like to build a CNC, and i've been looking around for some time now. I was considering a shapeoko3, but the surface area for the price did not satisy me, i'd like to make a CNC either cheaper,
    or at this price bigger.

So i looked around online and started thinking about stuff.

I'd like to build a CNC with a work area of approximately 50x50cm, and at minimum 30x30cm.
    I don't have very specific materials to cut, so i'd say plastics, wood, and aluminium.

As of now, i'm thinking about the linear motion axis.
    I've considered 3 options :
    1. C-beams, V-beams, openbeans and the like;
    2. supported bearings like SBR12 or SBR16
    3. linear rails like MGN12H

I read that the third option is the best one, with little to no backlash, but requires accurate positioning, and is the most expansive.
    Supported rails come second in accuracy, but are a bit more forgiving, and cheaper.
    At last, the C-beams with rollers and things like that are the lest precise,but really modular, easy to work with, and can be the frame of the machine, unlike the other solutions that require to be bolted on something.

i'm leaning towards option 3, because although it's more expensive per item, it's also less heavy than supported rails, and it shows on shipping.
    In my researches on aliexpress, i managed to find this kit of 2 800mm MGN12 rails with 2 MGN12H carriages, for 96$, free shipping, so that's less than 50$ per rail.