510,073 active members
3,366 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704
Page 13 of 13 3111213
Results 145 to 152 of 152
  1. #145
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    885

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    Quote Originally Posted by ihavenofish View Post
    are they "real" ethernet? as in, can i also hook up various computers, modems, printers, etc to the same network?

    i was under the impression they all had custom drivers to suit the purpose.
    UDP protocol is one layer below TCP/IP.
    Ethernet needs no drivers, but protocols.

  2. #146
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3914

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    I can't answer for the others, but I can answer for the Ethernet Smooth Stepper (as I use one). It uses the stock standard Microsoft Ethernet driver.

    However, there is a Smooth Stepper plug-in which takes high-level commands from Mach3 and converts them into ethernet packets. There is also a separate plug-in to convert those same high-level commands from Mach3 into a USB data stream.

    Cheers
    Roger

  3. #147
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3914

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    Buffers - oh yes, buffers for sure. Won't argue there! You get to specify the size of the buffer you want to use with Mach3 and ESS.
    Cheers
    Roger

  4. #148
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    596

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    Quote Originally Posted by OlfCNC View Post
    UDP protocol is one layer below TCP/IP.
    Ethernet needs no drivers, but protocols.
    Ethernet Powerlink uses standard Ethernet hardware (unlike Ethercat that uses standard hardware on the master but proprietary hardware on the slaves)
    but it does use a special driver

    Our Ethernet hardware uses standard drivers, protocols, and hardware but like Ethernet Powerlink, requires a RTOS

    In either case, standard Ethernet traffic is not allowed on the real time link as it will normally increase jitter to an unacceptable level by
    blocking real time traffic

  5. #149
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3660

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    Quote Originally Posted by PCW_MESA View Post
    Ethernet Powerlink uses standard Ethernet hardware (unlike Ethercat that uses standard hardware on the master but proprietary hardware on the slaves)
    but it does use a special driver

    Our Ethernet hardware uses standard drivers, protocols, and hardware but like Ethernet Powerlink, requires a RTOS

    In either case, standard Ethernet traffic is not allowed on the real time link as it will normally increase jitter to an unacceptable level by
    blocking real time traffic
    ahh, ok. makes sense.
    wotzBotz

  6. #150
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    519

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    Quote Originally Posted by OlfCNC View Post
    UDP protocol is one layer below TCP/IP.
    Ethernet needs no drivers, but protocols.
    Last I looked, TCP and UDP were both Layer 4 protocols.

    Mark

  7. #151
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    885

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    TCP/IP is basicly UDP protocol + error handling and handshake.

  8. #152
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    519

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    Quote Originally Posted by OlfCNC View Post
    TCP/IP is basicly UDP protocol + error handling and handshake.
    Yup, but they aren't on different layers of the OSI model. They're both Layer 4.

Page 13 of 13 3111213

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-29-2013, 07:36 PM
  2. Mach 3 vs Linux Cnc
    By tamartin in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-29-2013, 02:23 AM
  3. Linux/EMC VS Mach3 Where to Start
    By Gads in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-29-2008, 03:46 PM
  4. Anyone try mach3 with linux/wine
    By timmyb199 in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-23-2006, 07:32 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •