512,387 active members
2,997 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Metalworking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704
Page 3 of 13 12345
Results 25 to 36 of 152
  1. #25
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    68

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    Hello All,

    Thanks for all the great replies. I would have never imagined this much of a response. I have not had a chance to get to the PC part yet and am still working on getting the machine ready. I built a new frame and plan to set the machine in the frame soon. One that is done, I am sure to come back and ask many questions as I will be getting to the PC part then. I have no idea which version of Mach I have and if it is a legit copy. I will sort that out soon. Anyone curious about my progress can have a look at Marc's G0704 build thread. Thanks again everyone and i hope to ask more informed questions soon. However I do have one other. Since my machine already is set up on Mach3 is there a good online guide or book I could buy to get myself up to speed on its use? I am still very much open to changing, but I ay as well try and see if I can use what I have in the meantime.

    Take care,

    Marc

  2. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3923

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    Visit the Artsoft web site and find the documentation page. You want 'Mach3Mill_1.84.pdf' at least, plus any other useful-looking files there.

    Cheers
    Roger

  3. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    475

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    Quote Originally Posted by samco View Post
    linuxcnc docs are pretty darn good and being updated all the time.
    The documentation is too complex to the point of uselessness for the vast majority of machinists i have met in real life, and that includes myself.

    there are a number of 'aftermarket' solutions to this problem, but even the instructions on how to install them are too cryptic or not documented at all for linuxcnc. i'm talking about the gui's

  4. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3923

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    The documentation is too complex to the point of uselessness for the vast majority
    Ah well, very true: written by nerds, for nerds.

    Mind you, a lot of Windows doco is so far below the Windows for Dummies level it is a pain - sometimes.
    I do remember the time I was trying to help someone over the phone: they could not get any keyboard command to work.
    Eventually I realised that they did not understand the function of the Enter key.

    Cheers
    Roger

  5. #29
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1856

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    Eldon_Joh if you have someone like samco to help it is not so bad he is one of the good one's.
    http://danielscnc.webs.com/

    being disabled is not a hindrance it gives you attitude
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  6. #30
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    777

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    I don't believe uccnc just runs smoother, it's more accurate imo. Can't seem to get tollerances as tight with Mach 3.

    I've said this before with people saying what are you talking about in regards to Mach 4. But I heard new fangled solutions let go of their original programmers and hence why it's not finished and hasn't been since I last posted this years ago which kind of suggests was I heard was correct. So wouldn't keep your hopes up for a finished version anytime soon or likely ever.

    A uc400 + uccnc license is €160/£110 not sure what Mach 3 is at the moment but not a lot in it. Except uccnc is more of an equivalent to what mach4 was intended to be and as development goes it's fully functional and Using it it feels very refined.

  7. #31
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1856

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    BS
    http://danielscnc.webs.com/

    being disabled is not a hindrance it gives you attitude
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  8. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3923

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    Can't seem to get tollerances as tight with Mach 3.
    Really?
    I am machining to 10 microns (micrometres) on a routine basis with Mach3. My machine resolution is 0.8 microns, which can be seen in probing results.

    As to the Mach4 programmers - don't know.

    Cheers
    Roger

  9. #33
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    777
    Quote Originally Posted by RCaffin View Post
    Really?
    I am machining to 10 microns (micrometres) on a routine basis with Mach3. My machine resolution is 0.8 microns, which can be seen in probing results.

    As to the Mach4 programmers - don't know.

    Cheers
    Roger
    Spent endless hours with it, most tolerances where there but think it was something to do with the trajectory planner just doesn't seem to be as accurate overall for me. Bugged the hell out me for months with endless adjustments until I migrated over.

    Wether it was because I was running a uc300 that it was better suited to uccnc than Mach 3 plugin. Could well have been.

  10. #34
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    895

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    UCCNC has path deviation control, you have control over your job tolerances, you just don't have that with Mach3/4.

  11. #35
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3694

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    Quote Originally Posted by OlfCNC View Post
    UCCNC has path deviation control, you have control over your job tolerances, you just don't have that with Mach3/4.
    you certainly have that with mach3... its just not via gcode, its a global setting.
    wotzBotz

  12. #36
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    526

    Re: Mach3, Mach 4 or Linux CNC for G0704

    I'm assuming the OP is not really experienced with Mach 3 or other driver software or he wouldn't have asked the original question. That being the case I'd think stick with what he already has and learn it. Get to know the machine, the software and all the associated pro's and con's. Then, if there are issues or he can't accomplish what he wants, how he wants, try something else. Mach 3 has always worked fine for me, but then I've never tried UCCNC or the others mentioned. Mach 3 was the only really usable option for some time, so yes, it has a following but it's not surprising that some new options have started to surface over the last few years and I'm sure there will be more. That's a good thing in my opinion!

Page 3 of 13 12345

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-29-2013, 07:36 PM
  2. Mach 3 vs Linux Cnc
    By tamartin in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-29-2013, 02:23 AM
  3. Linux/EMC VS Mach3 Where to Start
    By Gads in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-29-2008, 03:46 PM
  4. Anyone try mach3 with linux/wine
    By timmyb199 in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-23-2006, 07:32 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •