585,722 active members*
4,237 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > precision servos (digital) vs. precision stepper (<3.6degree step angle)

precision servos (digital) vs. precision stepper (<3.6degree step angle)

Hello,

I'm new to the world of servos and stepper motors. However, I will be taking on a project that will require a very precise servo/stepper. Part of the project will be a laser mounted to the motor and we need the laser beam to move in as short of increments as possible at moderate distances.

Reasonable performance would be an increment of about 3-5cm when shooting 2.5m away. If my calculations are correct, a stepper motor with 3.6 degrees step angle would move the laser beam 15.7cm on the object. That's not going to be good enough.

I have found that digital servos are supposedly more precise than conventional servos, but I haven't found any data that tells me how precise they are.

Thanks, Ben

you need to micro step; there are plenty of boards out there to do it

Most stepper motors are 1.8 degrees per step.
    So given from your figures that 3.6 degrees will move 15.7 cm then 1 degree will move 4.36cm
    Taking 1.8 degrees and microstep this by 10 will give 0.18 degrees which will give 0.79cm on the target.
    Is this good enough?
    See http://www.geckodrives.com for more info on micro stepping motor drives, You need the G201.

John S.

Hi bennyben

Digital servos are no more percise than conventional servos.
    When I say this I must bring up the fact that digital servos are newer technology and therefore are used in the newer and more accurate systems.

If the new systems used conventional servos they would be able to acheive pretty much the same accuracy.

Servo motors and stepper motors are completely different in the way they go about position control.

Servos use velocity a command system.
    Steppers use a position control system.