584,861 active members*
4,694 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Home Build CNC for School shop.
Page 1 of 2 12

Home Build CNC for School shop.

I am starting this thread to help gain some support for my local high school Technology Program. I wish to build them a CNC machine, and thought this might be a good place to solicite help, and share some experience. Comments and ideas are welcome. I will share pictures, ideas, tips and tricks as I go. Those who donate may also be entitled to free software that I am developing as it becomes available. Here is what I am proposing...

I have been selling plans to build my cnc mini-mill for several years now. I have decided to help out my local high school Technology Education program in building their own CNC machine. With my help and plans I will build a CNC machine for the Westerly High School Tech Ed. dept. The school does not have the money in their small budget to fund a machine so I am going to help. I am donating all profits from the sale of my plans over the next few weeks, or until all of the materials they need have been purchased. I hope to employ some new design and building techniques to help save them some money. I will post pictures and tips as we build.
    www.bigbearcnc.com

Here is a picture of my machine:
    www.bigbearcnc.com
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.jpg  
    www.bigbearcnc.com

Ordered the firsts parts today. Steel linear rails.

R212-TGP 1/2 inch Dia. C1045 Cold Drawn Round - Precision Shafting 2.0 Ft. 5 In Stock $5.20 $26.00
    Shipping
    (UPS Ground)
    (Residential/Farm Address) $15.53
    Total: $41.53
    Stainless is better, but this stuff is WAY cheaper and works just as well. You just need to keep it oiled up. I can always swap out to stainless later if money affords it. Shipping was almost as much as the steel!
    www.bigbearcnc.com

HDPE $100US with shipping.