585,762 active members*
4,085 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > Spindle Not Turning Upon Initial Test - Any Help Appreciated - Reached Rock Bottom...
Page 1 of 2 12

Exclamation Spindle Not Turning Upon Initial Test - Any Help Appreciated - Reached Rock Bottom...

Hi everyone, Steven here.

This is my first post. I am very new to the world of CNC and machining in general and had purchased my first budget friendly desktop CNC kit from ZenCNC.

I am currently at the mercy of my own ignorance and also the company I had purchased the CNC Kit from (ZenCNC) does not seem to have any customer service so I am just lost and need some help. Any help is deeply appreciated.

I currently have a 12 x 12 ZenCNC desktop kit that took me 4 weeks on and off to assemble when I have time. I am a slow learn when it comes to technology.

My issue right now is with its spindle motor, which is not turning upon initial testing.

It's a DC spindle, 5000-8000 RPM - ER11.

Turning the spindle by hand seems very smooth. No jittery, or weird physical motion. Feels like smooth machine rotation. Feels like butter.

The instructions recommended a raw power test of the spindle first before connecting it to a microboard (Variable speed controller) than I think to the arduino. It also recommended soldering extension cables (Minimum 14 AWG) to the spindle cables because the spindle cables (1 black, 1 red, 4 inches long) are too short to reach the power supply units and other boards. There were also 6 limit switches which I have also soldered extension cables to but have not yet mounted or tested.

Should I have not gone with the minimum 14 AWG and maybe gone with something higher? I see some people use 18 or even 20 AWG for my machine but the instructions said 14 AWG.