584,846 active members*
4,124 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Tormach PathPilot™ > Switching to Active probe, and random spindle engagement.

Switching to Active probe, and random spindle engagement.

I am new to Tormachs, but not new to CNC (own a few Haas). A friend of mine bought a 440 and I have been helping him get started. Was calibrating the probe (active), and it said that I need to switch from passive to active in the "Setting Screen". I assume it is refering to the setting tab. I don't see any settings to switch from passive to active. Is there another setting screen I am not seeing? While messing around I hit activate dual boot (or something like that). All of a sudden the computer went to reboot, and the spindle turned on and maxed out. It ripped the cable out of the side of the machine and broke the ceramic probe tip. I am going to assume the spindle isn't suppose to randomly turn on.

Thanks,
    Dan

Re: Switching to Active probe, and random spindle engagement.

Report that to Tormach, and see the thread in the main part of the forum. The thread is "Warning Pathpilot Upgrade Issue" still on the main page. See the last note posted from Andy G at Tormach, but read the whole thing.

The 440 has some problems with uncommanded spindle engagement. Tormach is aware, but your friend needs to get his specific machine on their radar for a fix (which sounds as if it's going to amount to major hardware replacement).

You'll find that Tormach has great customer service.

Quote Originally Posted by Solid_Brass View Post