585,719 active members*
4,054 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > Palette Change Info
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    59

    Palette Change Info

    Hello!
    Just looking for some info on horizontal mill palette changing. OSP 200M controller.
    Program text would be great!

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    822

    Re: Palette Change Info

    We use M60 to initiate a pallet change.
    Also, you would put this code into a program that does any house keeping, i.e. resetting coordinate systems, etc...

    This is the pallet change program that we have been using for ages.
    It activates the pallet change first, then resets a couple of common variables that are in use on the machine.
    It then resets all the coordinate systems on B axis to Zero. This was put in after a job was stuffed up due to a small B axis offset that had been left active from a previous job.
    Now the B axis is reset to zero and no more "gotchas".

    $PPC-9999.MIN%
    O9999
    M60
    G15 H0
    VC100=0
    VC101=0
    CS=1
    N1 IF [CS GT 50] NEND
    VZOFB[CS]=0
    CS=CS+1
    GOTO N1
    NEND
    M2
    %

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    59

    Re: Palette Change Info

    Thanks a billion!:cheers:

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3109

    Re: Palette Change Info

    This is a link to an old thread of mine, originally for an OSP 7000M
    LINK

    M60 is a straight out pallet change.....It is too easy to reset a program after a pallet change, & it would then call in the other pallet....Murphy's law says it would be "the wrong one"
    - The ZIP file contains a .LIB file to be installed on the machine, it interrogates which pallet is loaded .... plus there is a couple of "'other goodies"
    ie M201, is pallet #1 loaded,,,, NO,,,,, then execute an M60

    The idea is to assign a subroutine to an M-code
    - you place the M-code at the top of the NC file, so that program would only run if that pallet was in the machining area....M202 would be at the end of the program to spit it out into the loading area

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    59

    Re: Palette Change Info

    Sweet!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    822

    Re: Palette Change Info

    Quote Originally Posted by Superman View Post
    This is a link to an old thread of mine, originally for an OSP 7000M
    LINK

    M60 is a straight out pallet change.....It is too easy to reset a program after a pallet change, & it would then call in the other pallet....Murphy's law says it would be "the wrong one"
    - The ZIP file contains a .LIB file to be installed on the machine, it interrogates which pallet is loaded .... plus there is a couple of "'other goodies"
    ie M201, is pallet #1 loaded,,,, NO,,,,, then execute an M60

    The idea is to assign a subroutine to an M-code
    - you place the M-code at the top of the NC file, so that program would only run if that pallet was in the machining area....M202 would be at the end of the program to spit it out into the loading area
    The only problem with this is that if you have many pallets... i.e. we currently have around 20 pallets that are fed through the machine via a AGV system, then identifying each pallet is not so simple.
    If you only have two pallets then, sure, this solution works great.

    I would never advocate putting an M60 in the main program for the exact reason stated... hit reset and bam! you could have a problem.
    When running multiple pallets (more than 2) we use a schedule program to load programs in the correct order.
    Pallet identification is done by using a probe to "measure" a cutout on the corner of the pallet to generate a two digit number, this number is then tested in the schedule program to make sure the correct pallet is loaded.
    If an incorrect pallet ID is detected the schedule program jumps to the end and moves on...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4154

    Re: Palette Change Info

    we currently have around 20 pallets that are fed through the machine via a AGV system
    i didn't know you have a driving license
    Ladyhawke - My Delirium, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_bFO1SNRZg

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    822

    Re: Palette Change Info

    Quote Originally Posted by deadlykitten View Post
    i didn't know you have a driving license
    hahaha sure, def have one... straight from the mornings Weeties packet

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3109

    Re: Palette Change Info

    Quote Originally Posted by deadlykitten View Post
    i didn't know you have a driving license
    Get lost kitty, stick your nose elsewhere

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4154

    Re: Palette Change Info

    Quote Originally Posted by Superman View Post
    Get lost kitty, stick your nose elsewhere
    Hy Superman ... good you are here : there is a noisy intruder in Antarctica and i just want you to be safe
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 08b.jpg  
    Ladyhawke - My Delirium, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_bFO1SNRZg

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3109

    Re: Palette Change Info

    Quote Originally Posted by deadlykitten View Post
    Hy Superman ... good you are here : there is a noisy intruder in Antarctica and i just want you to be safe
    not amused, so f***k off

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4154

    Re: Palette Change Info

    Quote Originally Posted by broby View Post
    we currently have around 20 pallets that are fed through the machine via a AGV system
    what if the avg loses it, and goes straight on route 66 ? under speed limit, so no one stops it ?

    ... or maybe it goes only through 2..3 walls ?
    Ladyhawke - My Delirium, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_bFO1SNRZg

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    822

    Re: Palette Change Info

    Quote Originally Posted by deadlykitten View Post
    what if the avg loses it, and goes straight on route 66 ? under speed limit, so no one stops it ?

    ... or maybe it goes only through 2..3 walls ?
    err... the safety systems kick in and fail to safe. i.e. the machine stops if any boundary area sensor detects an intrusion or if a sensor fails.

    You smoking dope or what? your comments are strange most of the time but this last lot just leaves me really wondering about you.

Similar Threads

  1. MATSUURA PALETTE CLAMPING
    By roboba in forum DNC Problems and Solutions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-20-2015, 12:32 PM
  2. Palette system
    By YordanZaykov in forum Mechanical Calculations/Engineering Design
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-06-2012, 12:39 PM
  3. Disable the internet palette?
    By HatchMan in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-22-2011, 07:06 PM
  4. CNC ROUTER 346 PALETTE BIESSE
    By badsousa in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-22-2011, 10:55 AM
  5. CNC ROUTER 346 PALETTE BIESSE
    By badsousa in forum Post Processors for MC
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-09-2010, 09:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •