585,949 active members*
4,016 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > 2.2 kw Spindle and VFD 220V - appropriate plug/receptacle (amperage?)
Page 1 of 2 12

2.2 kw Spindle and VFD 220V - appropriate plug/receptacle (amperage?)

Hello all,

here comes the probably dumbest question in this section ever ...

Anyhow, I am not an electrician and to make it even more complicated, I am from a 230V country. For heavy machinery we use three phase alternating current with 380V and there is only one plug design.
    Recently I bought a 2.2 kW china spindle with a VFD 220V which is still in route. Meanwhile I had asked an electrician to install 220V power outlet to run the spindle. When he was done I found out that he had installed the line but no receptacle and he told me, that he can't install a receptacle as long as he doesn't know what amperage the machine would need and walked away.
    OK this was the moment when I realized that there seem to be a plethora of plugs and receptacles for 220V in this country . Looking somewhat closer I found out that they basically differentiate from each other, except for the design, by the allowed amperage. Unfortunately that doesn't make it much easier to choose the right one because l have no idea what amperage I have to choose, nor if a special design which would be preferred.
    I would certainly appreciate if somebody could help with some information in this aspect, I am pretty sure that for most of you this is a no brainer.

Thank you
    Chris

Re: 2.2 kw Spindle and VFD 220V - appropriate plug/receptacle (amperage?)

U need max 16 amps for that spindle , he is rated at about 9 amps in full load .

Hello
    thanks for your reply!

So I will get a receptacle with 20 amps I guess.