585,560 active members*
3,375 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Hind Technology No PC Controller

I am in the process of bench testing the new Hind Technology Gen-II controller. It requires no pc to operate. It has 32 inputs, 16 outputs, and 7 relay outputs. Plug usb keyboard and vga screen into controller.

Is anyone else looking at this controller? I'd like to hear from you.

Bob

Re: Hind Technology No PC Controller

I'd love to hear about your bench testing. I contacted CNC4PC and HTG directly recently when I stumbled across the controller.

It appears they're working on the additional features (4th/5th axis, conversational CNC, etc.) but with no specific delivery date. They've updated their web site a bit in the past couple of weeks.

My remaining questions:
    - HTG published 100KHz frequency on all three axis.

Not sure how this jibes with them partnering up with DMM Tech and offering the nice range of DST/DHT servos and drives. I am a novice with CNC, but it seems that a 100KHz pulse rate is not suitable for a servo with a 16-bit (64k PPR?) encoder. Maybe my math is wrong, but at 3000RPM the encoder for a single axis would need something like 200MHz to keep up. What am I missing?

- No encoder feedback to the controller? I don't see axis feedback inputs, only the spindle. Again, maybe I'm missing something.

Maybe this is the ticket for a stepper-based system, but I'm curious how it flies with servos.

Please continue to post your experience. I'm considering a replacement system for my mill and am agonizing over the options. I really don't want to become a CNC design expert - but I also don't want to spend $$$ on a commercial turn-key system. I'm new enough at this that I'm not wedded to Mach3/4 or any other interface.

How's the interface? Anything irritating?

Thanks,
    Spumco

Spumco,