585,973 active members*
4,201 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Newbie Here.. trying to make a shaft flange on milling machine need help

Newbie Here.. trying to make a shaft flange on milling machine need help

OK... I will say new to machining and trying to learn so be kind...
    I am trying to turn my X2 mill into CNC using Hoss' plans.
    In his plans for the Z Axis I have to make a flange for the Zaxis Ballscrew. I don't have a lathe and the flange starts out at around 2.5 in the steps down to around 1.5. Yes this would be best done on a lathe.. but I have been told I can do this on a mill with rotery table.. can someone enlighten me on to this process...

THANKS

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

Re: Newbie Here.. trying to make a shaft flange on milling machine need help

It sounds like you need to get a piece of metal that's 2.5" in diameter sticking up from a rotary table that's flat against the mill bed, and use an endmill that has a flute length sufficient for the length of the turned-down section to progressively reduce the diameter. If it's too long for that, then you'd have to set it up with the rotary table parallel to the X axis of your mill instead of the Z axis, and support the end of the stock with a dead center before starting to reduce the diameter to 1.5", making sure your depth of cut isn't too much for the cutter (I'd suggest about half the tool diameter at a time). You'll need a tool with at least half an inch of flute length for this, but that's not hard to find.
    Andrew Werby
    Website

Well here is what I need to make...
    http://www.hossmachine.info/images/c...ed_800x461.jpg
    http://www.hossmachine.info/images/3...20sampler2.jpg