585,741 active members*
5,036 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog > Setting up Feed, Rapid and Spindle override with potentiometers...
Page 1 of 2 12

Setting up Feed, Rapid and Spindle override with potentiometers...

Hi guys looking for some help with setting up override knobs on my machine. First of all what resistance potentiometer is best to work with the Kanalog analog inputs? I have 5v and 12v supplys available.

Next question, is there a c-program floating around for rapid override? If not what is the command to change it? I found an example of FRO and SSO here: http://www.cnczone.com/forums/dynomo...c-program.html

And Im just learning basics of C programming so just want to confirm im on the right track. Both of these programs need to be merged into my init program right? Everything above main() goes above main in my init program and everything in the for (;;) loops gets added to my for (;;) loop right? How about the line in between main() and the for (;;) loop? In this case the FRO program reads: double Pot,FRO,T; and the SSO program reads double Pot,SSO,T; Do i need both lines before my for (;;) loop or could i just use double Pot,FRO, SSO,T; ?

Re: Setting up Feed, Rapid and Spindle override with potentiometers...

Hi mmurray70,

First of all what resistance potentiometer is best to work with the Kanalog analog inputs?
    I'd suggest around 2K Ohms.

I have 5v and 12v supplys available.
    The Kanalog ADC Inputs are +/-10V. So 12V would require a series resistor of ~20% to reduce the range to 0-10V. Otherwise 5V could be used and you would get 1/4 of the range (4096/4=1024 count range).

is there a c-program floating around for rapid override? If not what is the command to change it? I found an example of FRO and SSO here: Setting Feed and spindle by C program?