584,846 active members*
3,893 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > HAAS HA5C on Matusra RA2F - Issues with 2 different HAAS Rotarys/Indexers

HAAS HA5C on Matusra RA2F - Issues with 2 different HAAS Rotarys/Indexers

** This is my first post to the group, my apologies if I use the wrong terminology, I'm still learning **

Hey Guys/Gals,

The story starts out with an issue last week with a HAAS HA5C Rotary/Indexer that is used in one of our Matsuura RA2F's as a "Semi-4th Axis" via a Remote Cable. I ran through the Operators Manual and followed the Troubleshooting Guide word for word. The conclusion was that there was something bound in the Spindle or Worm Gear. The 5C wouldn't index upon command, but everything else (Remote Cable, Power Cable, Encoder Cable) checked out. The 5C would index without the Spindle Lock Cover installed, but once it was installed, the Spindle bound up and wouldn't index. The Indexer has since been sent off to a 3rd party shop for service, since HAAS no longer services this specific Indexer.

After the aforementioned 5C was sent out, Management requested that we remove another 5C from our RoboDrill and install it in the RA2F to complete the parts run. One of our Sr. Machinists/Op.'s removed and installed the 5C from the RoboDrill into the RA2F. When he started to runt he program for the parts, everything was fine. We ran a total of 5 parts while monitoring the 5C and didn't have a single issue. About an hour went by and I was informed by the same Sr. Machinist/Op. that the 5C wasn't indexing properly, or at all. Confused by this, we went back to the RA2F to check it out.