586,024 active members*
4,172 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > What do you do for a living?
Page 1 of 4 123

Talking What do you do for a living?

I work as a Automotive mechanic and have for 32 years now.
    Over the years I think I have worked on about every car made that is running around here in the US. It has been a good career over the years, I managed to earn enough to rais 5 kids and my wife was able to stay home all these years. From time to time I have taken breaks from cars and did computer work but that was WAY BACK in the early days of PCs when they needed work ALL THE TIME.
    Deep down I hope to stop repairing cars and trucks some day but I think it will be my bread and butter for many years to come, unless I invent something really cool that EVERYBODY NEEDS.

By the way if you ever have any car/truck questions? I would be more then willing to help from time to time.

Here's one for you.. a 93 Chevy half ton pickup, 212,00+ miles, 350 V8 TBI, 212000+ miles, new injectors, fuel pump, filters, timing chain, ignition components, oxygen sensor, idle speed control valve.
    Problem: floods out at idle, and blows black at road speed, floods out at stop sign. NO check engine light (light does work).
    Steve

Quote Originally Posted by Newby2 View Post
    Here's one for you.. a 93 Chevy half ton pickup, 212,00+ miles, 350 V8 TBI, 212000+ miles, new injectors, fuel pump, filters, timing chain, ignition components, oxygen sensor, idle speed control valve.
    Problem: floods out at idle, and blows black at road speed, floods out at stop sign. NO check engine light (light does work).
    Steve

Check the EGR valve, that year and motor is known for the EGR to leak a little vacume. Also that truck is known to do that when the ECM fails. Another thing is make sure the ground wires on the thermostat housing are secure.