523,928 active members*
2,752 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Plasma, EDM / Waterjet Machines > Torchmate > RED SCREEN AVHC DOESN'T FUNCTION AT ALL?
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    42

    RED SCREEN AVHC DOESN'T FUNCTION AT ALL?

    I HAVE A NEW TO ME TORCHMATE 2. IT CAME WITH A RED SCREEN AVHC. IT DOESN'T DO ANYTHING. I HAVE CHECKED THE TWO FUSES. ONE OUTSIDE THE CONTROLLER CASE AND ONE INSIDE ON THE LARGER BOARD. I HAVE OHM'D THE CABLES FOR CONDUCTIVITY AND SHORTS. THEY TESTED FINE. I FEEL THE SMART MOTOR SLIGHTLY WARM AFTER ITS SWITCHED ON FOR A WHILE. I CAN TURN THE BALLSCREW FREELY. I CALLED TORCHMATE. THEY DIDN'T HELP BECAUSE ITS DISCONTINUED AND COULDN'T QUOTE ME JUST THE NEWER BLUE SCREEN AVHC WITHOUT A COMPLETE ELECTRONICS, MOTOR, AND SOFTWARE UPGRADE INTO THE $4000 RANGE. THE REST OF THE MACHINE WORKS FINE OTHER THAN AXIS 2 DOESN'T WORK BUT IT HAD A SPARE. ANYHOW. HAS ANYONE HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH THE AVHC?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by quickjam View Post
    I HAVE A NEW TO ME TORCHMATE 2. IT CAME WITH A RED SCREEN AVHC. IT DOESN'T DO ANYTHING. I HAVE CHECKED THE TWO FUSES. ONE OUTSIDE THE CONTROLLER CASE AND ONE INSIDE ON THE LARGER BOARD. I HAVE OHM'D THE CABLES FOR CONDUCTIVITY AND SHORTS. THEY TESTED FINE. I FEEL THE SMART MOTOR SLIGHTLY WARM AFTER ITS SWITCHED ON FOR A WHILE. I CAN TURN THE BALLSCREW FREELY. I CALLED TORCHMATE. THEY DIDN'T HELP BECAUSE ITS DISCONTINUED AND COULDN'T QUOTE ME JUST THE NEWER BLUE SCREEN AVHC WITHOUT A COMPLETE ELECTRONICS, MOTOR, AND SOFTWARE UPGRADE INTO THE $4000 RANGE. THE REST OF THE MACHINE WORKS FINE OTHER THAN AXIS 2 DOESN'T WORK BUT IT HAD A SPARE. ANYHOW. HAS ANYONE HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH THE AVHC?
    I believe the smart motor is bad. It's getting 48v and the led lights aren't lighting up. The motor is pulling current I can hear the crackle as I plug the d-sub connector on and the heat coming from the transistors inside. i with test for the step and direction voltage coming from the controller.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    42

    Re: RED SCREEN AVHC DOESN'T FUNCTION AT ALL?

    I HAVE REPLACED THE MOTOR WITH A SM2337D-T. THE DRIVE BOX IS WORKING BETTER NOW. I WAS ABLE TO DOWNLOAD THE SMI (SMART MOTOR INTERFACE) SOFTWARE AND JOG IT. DOES ANYONE HAVE A STOCK SMX FILE FROM THEIRS I CAN WORK WITH? I THINK I NEED TO MAKE SETTING CHANGES. THE TORQUE ON THIS MOTOR IS MUCH HIGHER. AND RPM IS LOWER.

    I WILL CHECK WITH TORCHMATE LATER TODAY. THEY MAY SAVE ME ALOT OF TIME.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    42

    Re: RED SCREEN AVHC DOESN'T FUNCTION AT ALL?

    I HAVE THE SMI FILE FROM TORCHMATE FOR THERMAL DYANMICS THIN METALS.(FYI: IF YOU CHANGE YOUR PLASMA UNIT YOU MAY NEED TO REPLACE THE SMART MOTOR FILE).
    I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO JOG IT FROM THE CONTROLLER BOX. THOUGH THE PROGRAM ISN'T CORRECT WITH THIS MOTOR. THE TORCH DOESN'T GO ALL THE WAY DOWN TO THE METAL AND FIRES WAY HIGH. BUT I EXPECTED TO HAVE TO MODIFY THE PROGRAM.
    MY NEXT TEST WAS TO SEE WHAT IT DOES READING VOLTAGE WITH THE THERMAL DYNAMICS 5XR PLASMA POWERED ON.
    BAD...
    IT FRIED THE CONTROLLER(RED SCREEN BOX). WHICH BLOW A HOLE IS A DC/DC CONVERTER ON A BOARD. I ORDERED A NEW ONE(OLD DISCOUNTUED NEW TWICE AS POWERFUL). IF IT WORKS I WILL "NOT" MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE.
    THE HIGH VOLTAGE(10KV) HIGH FREQ START DID THE NASTY TO THE CONTROLLER.
    I WILL MAKE AN INTERFACE TO CONNECT FROM THE PLASMA TO READ THE VOLTAGE AFTER IT STARTS MAKING A CUT.
    IF ALL ELSE PROMA 150 HERE I COME.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    52

    Re: RED SCREEN AVHC DOESN'T FUNCTION AT ALL?

    Quote Originally Posted by quickjam View Post
    I HAVE THE SMI FILE FROM TORCHMATE FOR THERMAL DYANMICS THIN METALS.(FYI: IF YOU CAN YOUR PLASMA UNIT YOU MAY NEED TO REPLACE THE SMART MOTOR FILE).
    I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO JOG IT FROM THE CONTROLLER BOX. THOUGH THE PROGRAM ISN'T CORRECT WITH THIS MOTOR. THE TORCH DOESN'T GO ALL THE WAY DOWN TO THE METAL AND FIRES WAY HIGH. BUT I EXPECTED TO HAVE TO MODIFY THE PROGRAM.
    MY NEXT TEST WAS TO SEE WHAT IT DOES READING VOLTAGE WITH THE THERMAL DYNAMICS 5XR PLASMA POWERED ON.
    BAD...
    IT FRIED THE CONTROLLER(RED SCREEN BOX). WHICH BLOW A HOLE IS A DC/DC CONVERTER ON A BOARD. I ORDERED A NEW ONE(OLD DISCOUNTUED NEW TWICE AS POWERFUL). IF IT WORKS I WILL "NOT" MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE.
    THE HIGH VOLTAGE(10KV) HIGH FREQ START DID THE NASTY TO THE CONTROLLER.
    I WILL MAKE AN INTERFACE TO CONNECT FROM THE PLASMA TO READ THE VOLTAGE AFTER IT MAKES IT CUTTING.
    IF ALL ELSE PROMA 150 HERE I COME.
    Hello,
    I think I can help you, we have a product to connect with Red Display Torchmate THC. Please visit Torchmate Applications
    First please let me know if your Up-Down switch is okay,.and Red Display voltmeter section is okay.
    We can check step by step to localize the problem
    Also we need Download and Upload the program to your SmartMotor. I will send modified program after receiving yours.

    In Smart Motor software, there is a line for current limiting, to sense the plate. It push the working plate until no motor movement, if there is a mechanical problem, the motor heat increase but not burned.
    Do you have such observation?

    Regards,
    Argun

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    42

    Re: RED SCREEN AVHC DOESN'T FUNCTION AT ALL?

    OH NICE I DIDN'T SEE THIS BEFORE. TX FOR THE REPLY.
    MY NEW DC/DC CONVERTER MAY COME IN TODAY. I WILL SEE WHAT IT DOES WHEN REPLACED. I'M NOT SURE IF ANYTHING ELSE GOT DAMAGED.
    AFTER DISCONNECTING THE 48VDC TO THE SMALLER BOARD I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO USE THE UP/DOWN JOG AND ALSO USE THE SMI. BUT THE RED VOLTAGE READING ISN'T WHAT IS WAS BEFORE. ITS SHOWING -1 AND JUMPING AROUND 900 WITH NOTHING ELSE RUNNING. IT MAYBE THE LACKING CONVERTER.
    I WILL LET YOU KNOW.
    AND TX FOR THE SIMPLY EXPLANATION OF THE CURRENT SETTING.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    52

    Re: RED SCREEN AVHC DOESN'T FUNCTION AT ALL?

    Quote Originally Posted by quickjam View Post
    OH NICE I DIDN'T SEE THIS BEFORE. TX FOR THE REPLY.
    MY NEW DC/DC CONVERTER MAY COME IN TODAY. I WILL SEE WHAT IT DOES WHEN REPLACED. I'M NOT SURE IF ANYTHING ELSE GOT DAMAGED.
    AFTER DISCONNECTING THE 48VDC TO THE SMALLER BOARD I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO USE THE UP/DOWN JOG AND ALSO USE THE SMI. BUT THE RED VOLTAGE READING ISN'T WHAT IS WAS BEFORE. ITS SHOWING -1 AND JUMPING AROUND 900 WITH NOTHING ELSE RUNNING. IT MAYBE THE LACKING CONVERTER.
    I WILL LET YOU KNOW.
    AND TX FOR THE SIMPLY EXPLANATION OF THE CURRENT SETTING.
    Hi,
    Send your mail to agelkom@atlas.net.tr. I will send some photos and info.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    42

    Re: RED SCREEN AVHC DOESN'T FUNCTION AT ALL?

    I HAVE REPLACED THE CONVERTER. IT HELPED WITH THE SHORTING OUT. BUT THE VOLTAGE ISN'T READING CORRECTLY. I HAVE ORDERED SOME NEW 741 IC CHIPS. I'M HOPING THAT WILL FIX THAT AND GET ME BACK UP. ALSO WITH THE HELP OF AGELKOM.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    42

    Re: RED SCREEN AVHC DOESN'T FUNCTION AT ALL?

    I HAVE REPLACED THE IC. I'M NOT TOTALLY SURE IT WAS BAD. THE LED READ-OUT IS BAD. DMS-30PC-2-RS. BUT I HAVE CONNECTED A MULTIMETER FOR READ/SET VOLTAGES.
    ALSO I HAVE FIXED A PROBLEM WITH THE TORCH NOT TRAVELING DOWN FAR ENOUGH TO TOUCH OFF THE CUT PLATE. I CHANGED THE AMP=65 TO 100. THAT WORKS NICE.
    OTHER THAN THAT I HAVE YET TO FIRE THE PLASMA TD 5XR AGAIN. I DON'T KNOW WHY THE PILOT SMOKED THE AVHC. I HAVE THE RAW VOLTAGE CONNECTED DIRECTLY TO THE TORCH AND (WORK) GROUND WITH CORRECT POLARITY. I HAD TO MAKE A TAP AT TERMINALS WITH A RING CRIMP RIGHT BEFORE IT LEAVES THE INSIDE OF THE HOUSING. I DIDN'T FIND ANY OTHER QUICK CONNECT TABS IN THE WIRING SCHEMATIC OR ON THE WEB.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    42

    Re: RED SCREEN AVHC DOESN'T FUNCTION AT ALL?

    I HAVE REPLACED A TRANSISTOR ON THE 5V BOARD AND THE DMS WITH GREEN READ-OUT. WORKS FINE NOW.
    ALSO THERE ARE TWO COMMANDS ON THE SMI TO CHANGE AMP=65. ONE FOR THE AUTO AND ONE FOR MANUAL. THESE BOTH I HAVE ADJUSTED UP TO 150. THIS IS JUST BECAUSE OF THE LARGER SERVO MOTOR. STILL WITH THE HF OF THE PLASMA I HAVE DECIDED TO REPLACE THE UNIT WITH A TD A-80.

    PROBLEM WITH THE AVHC WAS MY CONNECTION DIRECTLY TO THE TORCH AND CLAMP. THE CORRECT - WAS BEFORE THE INDUCTOR IS THE PLASMA UNIT.

    PROBLEM SOLVED...
    TX AGELKOM FOR YOUR HELP

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    52

    Re: RED SCREEN AVHC DOESN'T FUNCTION AT ALL?

    Quote Originally Posted by quickjam View Post
    I HAVE REPLACED A TRANSISTOR ON THE 5V BOARD AND THE DMS WITH GREEN READ-OUT. WORKS FINE NOW.
    ALSO THERE ARE TWO COMMANDS ON THE SMI TO CHANGE AMP=65. ONE FOR THE AUTO AND ONE FOR MANUAL. THESE BOTH I HAVE ADJUSTED UP TO 150. THIS IS JUST BECAUSE OF THE LARGER SERVO MOTOR. STILL WITH THE HF OF THE PLASMA I HAVE DECIDED TO REPLACE THE UNIT WITH A TD A-80.

    PROBLEM WITH THE AVHC WAS MY CONNECTION DIRECTLY TO THE TORCH AND CLAMP. THE CORRECT - WAS BEFORE THE INDUCTOR IS THE PLASMA UNIT.

    PROBLEM SOLVED...
    TX AGELKOM FOR YOUR HELP
    You are welcome,
    You can use Cap04 capacitive sensor for non-touch operation. Therefore your Z axis motor does not push the working plate.

    Best regards,

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-23-2016, 09:05 PM
  2. AVHC Blue screen
    By MAS in forum Torchmate
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-04-2014, 07:15 PM
  3. Torchmate blue screen AVHC
    By MAS in forum Torchmate
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-16-2013, 07:54 PM
  4. Fadal Feedrate Potentiometer Doesn't Function
    By ThatguyDave in forum Fadal
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-13-2009, 04:45 AM
  5. G28 Home function doesn't work TCNC 4.01
    By rustyolddo in forum TurboCNC
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-15-2005, 01:47 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •