585,702 active members*
4,516 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Kennametal tooling

:drowning: :banana: (nuts)
    when my boss bought our new haas vf-2 he got a tooling certificate with kennametal. we have about $1300 left on it and i really wanted to get some indexable end mill type tooling, i have four of there catalogues and its quite stressful. i'm still fairly new to this new and advanced equipment, could someone recommend what type to get? i mainly run .375,.5,.625 type endmills on 6061 aluminum making custom sandrail parts or making jigs to drill holes in the 1000 different parts for our customers. i don't want to blow it and buy a bunch of crap i don't need, i could use a chamfer mill, center cutting mill, a nice face mill(2.0) and so fourth, but there are so many options, (lead in, 0 degree, 30 degreee,positive 0 degree lead -in, its very confusing. any input would greatly be appreciated, thanks

For smaller diameters under 5/8" in aluminum, I don't know if there would be much to gain with using inserted endmills. The main reason would be the low number of cutting edges available in those small cutter bodies. You might find that you lose out on feedrate because you only have one or two inserts, versus 2 to 6 flutes on a solid carbide tool.

Iscar has come out with a line of insert endmills, with something like 4 inserts on a 5/8 dia tool. You might check them out, and then see if there is any kind of crossover tool in Kennametal. Iscar is good stuff, I think they maybe came out with the free cutting insert geometries first, and Kennametal may be playing catchup in that department. That is just my WAG, but I do like my Iscar tooling.