585,560 active members*
3,522 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Machining an aluminum rocker arm for pulling tractor

Machining an aluminum rocker arm for pulling tractor

I am new to cnc machining and was just wondering how an experienced cnc machinist would hold an aluminum blank to machine the profile of a rocker arm? The rocker will be 1" thick when it is done. I thought about using a blank that is 1 1/4" thick and holding 1/4" of it in a vise and then milling off the 1/4" on the back after the profile is done. The rocker will have two holes it also. One is 1" and the other is 1/4". I thought about doing the holes first and then make a jig with two pins to come up through the holes to hold it for profiling. The 1" pin would be tapped to accept a bolt for clamping the rocker down.

How would you guys hold this for machining?

Rockers

Hi. jp,
    I have built several different style roller rockers for myself over my years of racing. I would be happy to assist you in setting up and machining them.
    Your thought about holding them with down with pins and bosses is right on. Make a fixturing plate with a dowel pin going thru the hole where the roller pin goes and then make another tapped pin where the roller brg. or shaft will go. A simple thick washer and grade 8 socket head capp screw will hold them in place for profiling. The selection of material is EXTREMELY important so as to not have the rocker fail from fatigue and stress. Also oiling of the rocker roller and trunion is critical to life support for your engine. If you have furthur questions contact me at: [EMAIL="[email protected]"]
    Regards,
    TOM

Thanks for the reply. I am thinking of using a material called fortal aluminum. It is supposed to be light as aluminum but it is strong as mild steel. They sell a lot of small pieces on ebay.