585,728 active members*
4,174 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

EMERGENCY ESTOP REQUESTED

I have been using Mach3 on a Shopmaster MillTurn for a few years now.* I have not been having any issues with it....* Today, it throws a message "EXTERNAL ESTOP REQUESTED".

It happens when the machine is sitting with no GCODE running and nothing moving.* I checked the ESTOP switches but when they are depressed, the message is "ESTOP SWITCH PRESSED".* It will happen within 30 seconds of resetting it.* It happens in both mill mode and lathe mode.* I have rebooted everything.* Yesterday when I shut the machine down, the PC "hung" while turning off and I finally had to turn off the power switch.* I looked through the configs, but its been a while since I looked at them and I haven't changed anything.

What can cause this message (since pressing a ESTOP has a different message)?* Any ideas as to what it might be?

Thanks,

Terry

Re: EMERGENCY ESTOP REQUESTED

I had the same problem and had to disconect each axis one at a time, run a loop of axis moves until the machine faulted out. My A axis stepper was the problem. This same fault also took out the A axis driver in the Gecko G540 a month before I found the bad stepper. The G540 has protection curcuit and that trips the fault light on the G540. You can contact gecko or use the forum to learn about what's the cause. Gecko took great care of me, they had me open the unit remove the bad driver module and sent for repair. They tested it, determined it to be my fault, that was shorted out, and sent me a NEW driver FOR FREE. They were amazing!

You say you checked the " E-stop switches" - did you install limit switches on the machine? I would check all your wiring in that circuit for loose or damaged wires. Also, the most common problem causing a fault is a loose stepper cable- be sure they are all tight and secured with the screws. Lastly, make sure the parallel port cable is tight and in good condition.