585,728 active members*
4,690 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > Fanuc 6MB - Spindle abruptly stops, feed continues, breakage ensues.

Fanuc 6MB - Spindle abruptly stops, feed continues, breakage ensues.

Hello all,

bear with me, I am new to CNC. Our shop has a Kuraki KBT 1105DX with Fanuc 6MB controls. We are having an issue where the the spindle will abruptly stop while cutting, but the feeding will continue. Obviously, this will tend to break things.

There are no alarms shown on the control screen. Operator says that the speed is otherwise well-controlled. I would have expected that if the controls saw the speed drop out, it would set an alarm and stop the feed, but maybe I'm being too optimistic.

Edited to Add: this is a DC spindle motor. I'm not sure what version of the spindle controller I'm working with, I haven't had a chance to open the cabinet yet.

Are there any obvious things I should troubleshoot first?

Any help would be appreciated.

Regards,

Ryan

Re: Fanuc 6MB - Spindle abruptly stops, feed continues, breakage ensues.

How to proceed depends on the type of spindle control: the 6M has both analog spindle and binary spindle outputs. Also, the OEM should have implemented an interlock to prevent the feed from continuing when the spindle speed drops below a certain RPM

Quote Originally Posted by memoryman View Post
    How to proceed depends on the type of spindle control: the 6M has both analog spindle and binary spindle outputs. Also, the OEM should have implemented an interlock to prevent the feed from continuing when the spindle speed drops below a certain RPM
    Thanks for the reply. As soon as I can get on the machine to troubleshoot, I'll reply back with more information. Electricians installing lights this morning, drew a short from somewhere and fried wires from here to kingdom-come. I believe we'll be in darkness for most of the day.

Hello moondawg,