585,722 active members*
4,211 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > Linear and Rotary Motion > How does a typical CNC machine control X-Y-Z position accurately?

How does a typical CNC machine control X-Y-Z position accurately?

Hi all! I'm new to CNC machines, and have been searching the internet for details about how common (typical) CNC machines based on stepper motors control the x, y and z axis positions accurately. So far, I haven't yet found details that explain positional control.

I realise that stepper motor shafts rotate, and the cutter moves along a straight (eg. ball-screw) shaft. However, sensors on general CNC machines only keep track of incremental steps of a stepper motor, but those incremental steps are not a one-to-one mapping in a linear direction along a shaft (such as a ball-screw shaft) right?

So, in order for the CNC machine to have accurate linear position control along an axis, will it be necessary to know things like shaft diameter? And would the shaft need to be manufactured very accurately in order to have very constant diameter along the entire length of the shaft?

What I don't understand at the moment is - how the incremental rotations of the stepper motor translate to a known (and accurate) linear increment along the shaft?

Thanks for helping me out in advance!

Re: How does a typical CNC machine control X-Y-Z position accurately?

You tell the control software how many steps it takes to move one unit, and the software sends the appropriate amount of steps to the stepper drives.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Quote Originally Posted by SouthPark View Post