584,860 active members*
5,252 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 6 123

Very Large Gantry Router Questions

Hullo...

I'm a rank newbie here, and I've got a few questions, regarding the design of a 66"x 40" x 10" gantry router... I'm looking to build a design that's accurate (inaccurate?) within ~0.015" (obviously, [much] more accurate would be better) for milling foam, and possibly some balsa. (Very light duty, sideloads measured in ounces, around 10 oz. max..) A friend of mine is building the driving hardware, so I'm all set in terms of interface/driving board.

<>

Attached are a couple sketches of my current design... (Dimensions in inches.)

I'd be using 25mm/1" open linear ball-bearing units at all bearing points (http://www.vxb.com/page/bearings/PRO...ystems/Kit7445 or similar) and would place supports under the X-axis (66") rails, every 12" or so. (Alternatively, could I use closed bearings, and allow the gantry support columns to rest on the router bed, taking the weight loading off the rails?)

The spindle would be driven by a Dremel, with a flexible pen-tool attachment, though I'm definitely open to other (more powerful) low-dollar solutions. (As currently designed, the Dremel would actually hang on a slide above the router, with the pen-tool clamped to the Z-axis, to minimize weight loading on the gantry assembly.)

For axis driving, I'd be using four stepper motors; one driving each gantry column (to prevent skewing) and one each on the Y and Z axii, with Acme leadscrew and dumpsterCNC.com anti-backlash leadnuts on all axii.

As for questions:
    Where does one purchase shaft/rail material in 6' lengths, at "reasonable" cost? I know these things are expensive, but I would like to do this as cheaply as possible. (Obviously, it needs to have precise OD, if I'm going to use the ball-bearing units. I am tempted to use one of the adjustable rollerblade-bearing designs, but the amount of machining required puts me off a bit.)