585,971 active members*
4,059 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > 5 axis mastercam wrong direction of the machine

5 axis mastercam wrong direction of the machine

Hello all.

I am trying to machine a part using 5-axis ( cms berbana ) machine and facing some problems. Simple part to machine a 45 degrees chamfer.
    This is my first time programing in 5 axis.
    Until now I place the part on the cnc table and take the dimensions of X/Y/Z using engraving tool. Then import them in machine offset G55.
    On mastercam I just have to place the origin on top left corner, (same as g55).all is good when working.
    Now I did the same for the part on the cnc, and in mastercam I used new plane to machine the chamfer I want.
    The machine is turning the head 45 degrees but in wrong direction, and also moves to wrong place of the part.

Any help please?

Re: 5 axis mastercam wrong direction of the machine

It's not true 5 axis programming.... but 3+2 axis positioning

WCS is the view when the machine is all at zero ( .... your actual setup )
    T/C planes is the view at which the machining is done.....AND that view must be obtainable ( using the table rotations ) from your WCS setup

so.... in the operation..... WCS is set to "TOP" .... both T&C planes set to "Plane"
    "TOP" & "Plane" must have the same origin point (0,0,0)
    What this does is let Mastercam work out the rotations needed to get to the other view

Does your machine have TPC ( tool path control ) ?.... or some sort of origin shift macro for multi-axis work ?
    ---- or do you have to set the new plane to another co-ordinate system ?

I wish I can answere that.
    I thought it would be easy using the +2 axis just
    Changing the planed in mastercam.

I have no problem machine without rotate head.

I use fanuc 5 axis head vertical post processor from mastercam.

Maybe this is the problem?

Quote Originally Posted by Superman View Post