585,700 active members*
3,945 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Help buying a lathe

hello,
    Im currently looking to purchase a lathe my budget is around 2k Id like to be eventually be able to convert it to cnc. Im still fairly new with all this so thats why im asking for help. Id like to have one that can handle workpieces at least 30" in length. I have been lookin at the birmingham 1236 but im sure there is other alternatives out there. I have also been looking at the lathemasters 930. Any advice is appreciated thanks

Just because you can fit at 30" long part does not mean you can work the entire length. You may need to go with a larger lathe just for this reason.

Also, swing may be an issue, what is the diameter of your parts.

Aaron

The maximum diameter i plan to use is probably 5" ,but possibly more. How hard is it to convert to cnc? I know there is alot of information on here ,but i feel lost with all of it. Is there a good tutorial or parts list? Thanks sorry to be such a Newb

If you are going to spin a 5" x 30" part, you want as much weight as you can afford.

A 9x30 will most probably too small - the swing over cross slide (5 7/8") meets you needs but the carriage travel (25") won't let you reach the entire length of your part in one setup. And if your part is steel, the part would be half the lathes weight - meaning it's going to hop all over the place.

Take a look at harbor freight 46951-2VGA - $2K for a 13x40 (1200 lbs)

Aaron

For someone as new as you appear to be about this, all I can do is recommend you spend a lot of time reading. The amount of info is overwellming to say the least. But the only way you are going to understand what direction to take is gain some understanding of it yourself, or solely depend on others to make your choices.