584,829 active members*
5,037 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > General Off Topic Discussions > What is your Machine Shop policy on food and drink on the shop floor?

What is your Machine Shop policy on food and drink on the shop floor?

Hi Everyone,
    This could be a touchy subject to some and a no brainer for others...
    I work in a shop that machines parts for mostly medical and aerospace industry. I would like to know what is the current industry standard for manufacturing on having any food or beverage in the shop? How is it in your shop?
    Thanks for any comments.

Re: What is your Machine Shop policy on food and drink on the shop floor?

I'm a Safety Coordinator for a machine shop. ISO 9001 certified. I just made a rule that there is no food on the shop floor. Drinks are ok.

What types of liquids are ok? (water, coffee, tea, soda)
    Must they be covered? Difference as in an open can of soda vs, plastic soda bottle with screw-on top?
    Since you have just implemented this rule- How did you roll it out to the employees, and how is it going?

small shop. 40 employees. i called everybody to the cafe for a meeting. Told them. Lot of complaining at first. Now a month later its been fine. Drinks i just left it open. Realistically the should be covered. I'll get to that one later. One thing at a time as far as things people dont like go.

I have seen a few shops buy their employees a nice cup with lid and company logo on them. great idea for sure solve two issues the crying and if a customer comes in it looks good.

I can't see any possible reason to remove food or drink from the floor . If a guy is sitting at his bench with a pizza in front of him then that's one think , but a guy is chipping away at a sandwich while getting work done is another . It beats them disappearing from the shop floor and hiding throughout the day .