584,879 active members*
5,305 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Should I get Flashcut?

I'm about to CNC a "CNC ready" bench mill. I'm seriously considering getting the Flashcut 3 axis Servo kit. I've come up with a list of pro's and cons and would greatly appreciate comments.

Pros for the Flashcut CNC Servo

1) USB interface rather than a parallel port. The USB interface may be much more reliable and available.

2) Separate function generator so Windows multitasking may not be a problem.

3) Servo motors that may have advantages over steppers.

4) Complete kit available so there should be no compatability issues

Cons

1) Expensive (but not out of budget)

2) Forced to use Flashcut software (this might not be a disadvantage if it is reliable and supported)

I've been running FlashCut for 5+ years. I started with version 1.2 on Windows 98 running a ShopTask mill/lathe. I'm now running version 2.1.4 on XP. It controls a plasma table, ShopTask mill, and currently my Bridgeport Series 1 conversion. Solid as a rock. I only have experience with their steppers though.

Their knee mill conversion uses Elrod Machine components. Which are supposed to be one of the best conversions.

My two cents.

Nicholas

I ordered Flashcut!

I ordered a Flashcut system yesterday.

Did you order the USB or serial controller (Signal Generator)?

I have been running the FlashCut system for over 4 years without any problems. It is a stepper system with serial connection running a Sherline 5400 mill. Had no problems and is very staight forward.
    I dont understand your problem with running the Flashcut software. no matter what system you choose you are at the mercy of the software and how well it is interfaced with the system as a whole. It has weak editing tools but that is not what the main function of the program is for.

mc_n_g

I ordered the Flashcut sytem with the USB interface. I'm glad that the Flashcut software works so well for others and hope to have the same experience.