584,802 active members*
5,071 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Controller & Computer Solutions > Seeking advice on converting machine to either Mach or LinuxCNC
Page 1 of 2 12

Seeking advice on converting machine to either Mach or LinuxCNC

First off, let me say that I have several years experience working with Mach3 and enough time messing with EMC to not be completely stupid.

I recently picked up an old (1996-ish) GSI/View Voyager video measurement/inspection machine that I'd like to convert from the proprietary control software to either Mach or EMC. My problem is that I have zero experience with servos. encoders, etc. so I am at a loss as to what needs to be added/replaced to make this work. As it sits now, everything works and can be controlled by the View software and joystick. Here is the current setup...

2x Motion Engineering PC-DSP cards in the PC (I'm guessing one for motion control & one for the Renishaw scales/encoders)
    Interface card between the PC card and amps (this appears to be a simple pass through connection panel between the PC & the machine)
    3x Glentek SMA-7105 servo amps
    3x Glentek GM-2325 servos
    Renishaw RGH22 encoders on each axis

I just got the service manual and it has dozens of pages of schematics, but haven't had a chance to do more than a quick browse through it.
    Any insights or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
    Brian

Re: Seeking advice on converting machine to either Mach or LinuxCNC