584,814 active members*
5,353 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > How to Set up a Huanyang VFD and 2.2KW Air Cooled Spindle
Page 1 of 4 123

How to Set up a Huanyang VFD and 2.2KW Air Cooled Spindle

So I'm sure this has been posted about before. In doing my research, I referenced a few pages here. But nowhere was I able to find any one list that had both all of the right settings, and was free of mistakes. Now I'm no expert, but I do have a good understanding of electronics. I also understand that the things I DO NOT KNOW, I am not going to post my opinion of where I "think" that setting should be.

The way this came about was that I ordered and received one of the cheap E-bay air cooled 2.2kw spindles and VFD combo. Now sure, it came with instructions. And I'm betting if I would have followed them, and changed those 4 (literally, just 4) settings that the spindle would have ran. For how long, and how well...who knows. I have heard plenty of horror stories about these, but also heard of lots of guys running them for years (and still) with no problems. So I had to get to the bottom of it. Just because this combo is cheap...well..it is still a real spindle, and a real vfd, and I really wanted to get it set up working properly with at least on/off control in Mach3.

Success! Here's how I did it:

If you search the web, you can find many lists for the settings on the Huanyang VFD. A lot of them are for water cooled spindles, or 1.5kw air cooled. As you'll see, we'll cover these as well, but I wanted to be sure that I had everything right for the 2.2KW.

I figure the easiest way to start this is from the manual. Yes, the English is terribly broken in spots, but, it still gives us access to all of the settings and what they are. Here's a copy:

http://www.exoror.com/datasheet/VFD.pdf

So, let's take this right from the start.