524,135 active members*
2,371 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 35

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1

    Biesse Rover 335 floppy problem

    I'm working with old 1992 Biesse Rover 335 model.
    I need help about floppy drive, it don't work and i need to change it, but don't konow what floppy drive i need to buy......can I mount a standart PC 1.44mb floppy or need a something special???

    Thanks to all for your help!

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    23
    I think I remember hearing that the floppy needs to be configured a certain way for older machines. I looked on the service website but couldn't find anything, the best bet is to contact Charlotte, 704-357-3131 ext. 2

  3. #3

    Biesse Rover 335 CNC Router

    Are you looking to get another unit? I have one I would like to sell. It needs a tune up, but not bad. ~ 23,000.00

    Call me if you are intersted 616 218-0506

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2

    biesse rover 335 parts

    Hi do you have any parts for the biesse rover 335
    as im in need of some parts
    regards
    steve

  5. #5
    Activation process
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    172
    I will have to look in my files but I am relatively sure it is a Teac unit if your control is a Rt480 or an NC481. It will also have to be jumped in a specific manner to work. Also, the floppy's must be formated on the RT480 control in its native environment or they will not work with that control. If you ahve any more questions do not hesitate to contact me at ntek1@aol.com or through my website at www.cnccustomservices.com
    Best of Luck!
    Mark T.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    473

    Smile

    i was told you had to get floppy from biesse. i took floppy out of my pc.
    cut pad cn01 and solder pad cno on back and it worked fine. rover 321

    it was a standard pc floppy 1.44

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    473

    how to replace biesse floppy drive

    I have an old biesse machine which use rt480 controller with floopy drive model ju-257a688pc. Recently I have problems using this drive.
    I saw your message regarding instruction how to mount a new drive.
    can you explain how to install a new pc floopy drive to the macine ?

    Thanks,

    Shlomo[/QUOTE]
    you do this at your own risk. it worked for me. mine just wouldnt boot properly.

    you have to completely remove controller from cabinet. open rear of cabinet with power off!
    mark all cable positions of plugs and make a drawing of where they go... 6 plugs i think. remove all plugs and 4 front screws. controller can be pulled out from the front.

    take top off controller box. unscrew drive holder from side. unscrew drive from holder.
    replace with new drive.
    if you take a drive from a pc note the position of the red wire on power plug as it needs to be plugged in the right way round. the tape plug has a keyway so it goes one way.

    the drive must be configured to cn0 not cn1 as is standard on a pc... the original had jumpers but the newer ones usually have solder pads which are visible through holes on underside.
    desolder the pad which is solered as cn1 and cut through the centre.
    solder accross the joint of cn0 to bridge it as cn1 was.

    the drive is then configured for cno instead of cn1.

    now reassemble in reverse order.
    i put controller in loose with floppy hanging out of door loose also to test. when happy i reassembled everything as was originally.

    hope that helps

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    473

    Smile floppy drive possible fix

    i opened the original floppy drive today that wouldnt read disks.
    the motor has an open worm drive on it. the original grease had gone very hard blocking the worm drive stopping it moving freely. i used a small craft knife to pick it clean then a cotton wool bud with wd40 on it. a small vaseline smear to finish and it now works perfectly again.
    well worth checking as it only took a few minutes to do.


    i also have the biesse original drive numbers and models here with correct jumper configuration.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    0
    Hi from every one

    my name is Leandro i live in argentina i have an rover 335 without tool changer.
    my rover 335 have 29 drills, 2 spindles and one saw. this saw can work to 0 degrees and 90 degrees.
    I have a problem with my machine. I NEED THE DISKETS TO RECHARGE THE CONTROL.

    can anyone send me the images of diskettes to make a set to recharge.

    thanks

    my machine is year 1992

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    473
    i hope you have disks inside controller door?
    have you lost all data due to flat memory battery?
    about 6 people this month!

    i couldnt get disks so i converted controller
    so much to learn, so much to pass on.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    0

    Unhappy DISKS HELP ROVER 335 (1992)

    Quote Originally Posted by battwell View Post
    i hope you have disks inside controller door?
    have you lost all data due to flat memory battery?
    about 6 people this month!

    i couldnt get disks so i converted controller
    Hi, I have an old copy of disks but is damaged.
    the controls work fine excetp your Ciclon Battery pack (I replace it today)
    but now I need a Disk to rechargeit.

    if anyone have a disk please sendme by mail leandro@deloscables.com.ar
    I hope find with your help.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    473
    the disks cant be written directly in a pc as they are in cni format.
    you will probably have to buy them from biesse

    if you do manage to find someone with them the only way they can be read/ written in a pc is with a java program called rawrite

    biesse uk are very helpfull if your spending money
    (i have the only 335 in the uk, its quite a rare machine)
    so much to learn, so much to pass on.

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    0
    Ok Battwell-

    I know make a disk in a PC with RAWRITE. but I dont have a Image file to make a DISK

    can you send me by email the Images to use in RAWRITE?
    please send me this and I make a Disks.

    my email is leandro@deloscables.com.ar

    another tanks

    Leandro

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    473
    i have not got disks. (you will have to buy them from biesse)
    i bought my machine with dead control (flat battery)
    im upgrading controller (taken 2 months so far but its much better than biesse now)
    [nomedia="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=le0CMiiBw5c"]YouTube- texturing curves trial on the "duzzit"[/nomedia]

    i will be selling complete controller fitted soon but it wont be cheap (and i would have to fit / commision)
    so much to learn, so much to pass on.

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    0
    ok battwell

    sorry

    I don understand your first post

    tanks

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    0
    Can you help me with my Biesse 335 rover cnc floppy problem?

    Regards,
    Berne935

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    473
    there are a number of programs that will write a disk (floppy) in a pc.
    but the old controls are limited to approx 11k max file size so big files have to be split down.
    depending on what cam program you are using and what you want to make?

    if doors etc panelcam
    if art etc artcam

    if other you have to use a file converter.
    let me know what you make and il suggest something for you!
    so much to learn, so much to pass on.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    1

    Arrow Re: Biesse Rover 335 floppy problem

    Quote Originally Posted by el loco biela View Post
    Hi from every one

    my name is Leandro i live in argentina i have an rover 335 without tool changer.
    my rover 335 have 29 drills, 2 spindles and one saw. this saw can work to 0 degrees and 90 degrees.
    I have a problem with my machine. I NEED THE DISKETS TO RECHARGE THE CONTROL.

    can anyone send me the images of diskettes to make a set to recharge.

    thanks

    my machine is year 1992

    Hola Leandro, tengo el mismo problema que el que tu tenias. No tengo los disco de instalacion de CNC biessen rover 335.
    Si eres tan amable, te pediria porfavor que me enviaras copia de los disco de instalacion del CNC.
    Estaria enormemente agradecido.
    mi email es jqp@elaqui.com
    Un saludo

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    0
    mario:

    Yes ours use G-code. However our PC is using msdos format. How do we do this?

    Regards,
    Bernie

  20. #20
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    473
    panelcam writes the disk in cni format.

    there is also a converter program for windows xp etc which will convert any gcode file and write it to cni floppy format.
    email cassio@outlawcowboy.com
    (thats what i use)

    you will still require the correct post processor for your cam program
    what program do you want to use?

    or buy panelcam and its an all in 1 solution
    CAD/CAM software for cabinet design, fabrication, panel optimization and NC machining and routing.
    so much to learn, so much to pass on.

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Biesse Rover 30 LS
    By andreaslederer in forum Community Club House
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-02-2013, 06:46 PM
  2. Biesse Rover 22 Start-Up Problem
    By mgaman in forum CNC Machining Centers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-16-2012, 03:55 PM
  3. Biesse Rover 346
    By Carlos1298 in forum CNC Machining Centers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2012, 01:23 PM
  4. Biesse rover 24 vacuum problem
    By Hoosen in forum CNC Machining Centers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-12-2011, 03:52 PM
  5. Biesse Rover A3.30 problem
    By rliovic in forum General WoodWorking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-09-2010, 08:33 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •