584,805 active members*
4,854 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread milling questions

I am new to thread milling. I need to cut internal and external 7/16-20 threads in Delrin. I have a Tormach 34694 thread mill. What should I use for DoC and feed and how do I calculate it? I have GWizard but I'm confused how to enter the parameters. I assume that "tool diameter" should be the shank diameter (3/16) rather than the cutting diameter (0.180). Does 3.2ipm at 3500 rpm (so that I don't have to move the belt) seem reasonable? I hate to break things!

Re: Thread milling questions

Try this calculator

Micro 100 Speed and Feed Calculator

I entered .180 cutter diameter 4 flute, put in a max rpm of 5000. You want the cutter diameter to calculate your feed rate, not the shaft size.

and its saying at 5000rpms, to run it at 25ipm. Delrin is very forgiving when it comes to thread milling, a great material to practice it on.
    Work: Hurco VMX42/VMX50 - Shopsabre 4896 - Bobcad V4 4axis pro
    Home: RF45 with Ajax CNC Controller - Bobcad V27 3 axis pro

Quote Originally Posted by kstrauss View Post
    I assume that "tool diameter" should be the shank diameter (3/16) rather than the cutting diameter (0.180).
    Absolutely NOT! Tool diameter is ALWAYS the outer diameter of the cutting teeth! For a threadmill, it is the OD of the profiled teeth. For threadmilling, you also want to compensate the feed for the helical path. This means feedrate will be much HIGHER when cutting external threads, and LOWER when cutting internal threads. I don't use GWizard, so can't give any specific advice for that tool. I VERY much prefer HSMAdvisor for all feed and speed calculations.

Regards,
    Ray L.

I tried the Micro 100 calculator (thanks MikeC8!) which claims to be a version of HSMAdvisor.