585,768 active members*
3,946 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Need help wiring drivers

I'm not good at electronics, so this is probably a dumb question.

I have been running one Gecko driver to test/run one motor on my unfinished machine. I have now reached the point where i want to run all three motors. I wired three geckos and three motors. OK, everything is wired except the "Common" or "+5Volt" on the drives for the Opto Isolators. Question is where do I get +5Volts from? Where would I wire the ground to the +5Volts? Before I was just getting it from a Hi pin on the parrallel port, but this don't seem to be working with 3 drives.

Help me before I make smoke....

Thank You

InventIt,

What controller are you using? Breakout board?

Mike
    No greater love can a man have than this, that he give his life for a friend.

No breakout board. Trying to wire parrallel cable directly to Gecko 201.

Hi,

I'm not sure if you can use the 5V from the parallel port, but if you get a Y connector for hard drive power cable in the PC, you can use the red and black wires for 5V (red) and ground (black)

My first controller/drive box was built in an old computer case, so I left the power supply in it and used the 5V for the drives, and the 12V to power my breakout board and relay coils.

Computer power supplies are pretty standard for colour codes. Yellow is +12V red is +5V and black is ground.

Steve

LPT port current is about 15 mA in general and as a rule of thumb is unable to drive anything without help from buffers (for example 7414) or darlingtons (for example UCN2803).

If you wire to the lpt port you are in risk to blow it, so if you want to try better install a second lpt card (about 15$) to experiment...

Hope it helps
    /U