584,812 active members*
5,395 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > RF-45 Clone Mill > ENCO RF45 Clone CNC Conversion - LinuxCNC
Page 1 of 8 123

ENCO RF45 Clone CNC Conversion - LinuxCNC

Hello all,

I am currently working on converting an ENCO RF45 clone that I purchased in the fall of 2013. I am pretty much following in others footsteps but I am doing a few things differently so I though I would document my endeavors here in the hopes it might be of value to someone.

First, a quick history. I purchased the mill when I was a freshman studying Mechanical Engineering Tech at Southern Poly. I used the mill for several projects during the spring of 14 but a defective spindle motor made it less than reliable so I mostly used the school’s equipment during that time.

During the summer of 14, while waiting on replacement motors, I took the opportunity to completely tear down and rebuild the mill. I replaced all the bearings, added oil groves to the ways, repositioned some of the gears in the head to reduce noise, and stripped to iron, filled and repainted.

Overall I was very impressed with the quality of the machine; the castings were crisp and sound, the fit and finish excellent. I think it is a step above the IH or Charter oak machines in term of quality, though it is a little smaller. ENCO’s customer service was excellent and we did eventually get the motor problem worked out. It turned out that I was one of the first few to purchase that particular mill model from ENCO, and while the motor was a good quality American made unit the capacitors were not sized correctly which caused the centrifugal switch contacts to fuse together. After sending me 5 motors with small caps they finally got the right size and it has run fine since.