517,700 active members
2,949 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > VFD interface to other equipment.
Page 4 of 4 234
Results 61 to 75 of 75
  1. #61

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    So the rs485 is my only option then? I’ll have t
    Order one if so. I was hoping to get it to work with what I have now

  2. #62
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10887

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhatley View Post
    I’ve been reading such different approaches to the same components I have, I can’t get any of them to work. My next thing is to try an order an rs485
    If you don't have a relay for the On / Off then it is not going to work with this VFD Drive from the G540 output you have to switch a Relay On / Off from the control and the output of the Relay is then connected to the FWD and ACM Terminals there is no voltage involved with this so if you have used any voltage to these connections you may have some damage

    Or use the Modbus which can be a challenge also for some to setup
    Mactec54

  3. #63

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Sorry for my ignorance, is the modbus the same as the rs485?

  4. #64
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23262

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhatley View Post
    Sorry for my ignorance, is the modbus the same as the rs485?
    Yes, RS485 is the serial hardware standard used, Modbus is the data format. But technically Huanyang use a 'Loose' form of Modbus.
    Although I also have used the method I outlined here on VFD's such as yours and ones that have the same input format, which is typical, source type opto inputs. Eliminates the need for a relay.
    See https://www.cnczone.com/forums/spind...equipment.html
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  5. #65

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    I read through this, but even after . I still cannot get mine to work properly. If I turn my gecko G540 off my spindle turns on. And stays on. And Mach 3 will only turn the spindle on for a second or two then trips the estop

  6. #66
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23262

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Sounds like something else going on there that is not that obvious from here.
    Does the VFD run in manual input mode?
    Or in the programmed mode but manually input the start via a P.B. e.g. etc.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  7. #67
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10887

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhatley View Post
    I read through this, but even after . I still cannot get mine to work properly. If I turn my gecko G540 off my spindle turns on. And stays on. And Mach 3 will only turn the spindle on for a second or two then trips the estop
    It never will work with this VFD Drive you have and the G540 without a Relay
    Mactec54

  8. #68
    Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    Sounds like something else going on there that is not that obvious from here.
    Does the VFD run in manual input mode?
    Or in the programmed mode but manually input the start via a P.B. e.g. etc.
    Al.
    It works fine on its own.. but if I hook it up to the G540 it does this.
    Pin 5 forward
    Pin 7 acm
    Pin 8 vi
    Pin 9 +10v
    Pin 12 ( tied in with the other grounds) to dcm

    Thinking the relay may need to be added?

    I’ve got a relay and an rs485 adapter coming. Somehow I’m
    Going to get this to work, I just wish it wasn’t such a pain.


    Just as a side note, if I take the dcm from the vfd and touch it to basically any of the terminals on the G540 breakout board ( with the power off ) the spindle will turn on.

  9. #69
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23262

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhatley View Post
    It works fine on its own.. but if I hook it up to the G540 it does this.
    Just as a side note, if I take the dcm from the vfd and touch it to basically any of the terminals on the G540 breakout board ( with the power off ) the spindle will turn on.
    That is strange, I looked up the manual for your specific model and the PLC input is no different from any other typical Huanyang that I have hooked up the G540 direct to.
    I presume you are using the G540?
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  10. #70
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10887

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    That is strange, I looked up the manual for your specific model and the PLC input is no different from any other typical Huanyang that I have hooked up the G540 direct to.
    I presume you are using the G540?
    Al.
    You keep repeating the same thing for a number of years now I have never seen this VFD Drive work with the G540 direct wired without a Relay added, most try but fail, then they add the Relay and it all works

    By what the spec's are it should work this is an old problem that keeps on coming up
    Mactec54

  11. #71
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23262

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    You keep repeating the same thing for a number of years now I have never seen this VFD Drive work with the G540 direct wired without a Relay added, most try but fail, then they add the Relay and it all works

    By what the spec's are it should work this is an old problem that keeps on coming up
    Odd that you are the only one that I here it does not work from, if you know ANY basic electronic theory you may understand it.
    I would be interested in knowing what exactly is the difference in this particular model, So far the manual shows the same as the rest!
    Please explain why?
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  12. #72

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    yes, a gecko g540. it was part of a kit i bought with the ZenBot 4896. i received both - my relay and my rs485 adapter today. i will tinker with them and report back.

  13. #73
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23262

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    A while ago I communicated with Sebastien of royaumedeole.fr, the one that wrote the Mach plug-in for the Huanyang, I ended up using it in some DC drives I built using the same plug in!
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  14. #74
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10887

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    Odd that you are the only one that I here it does not work from, if you know ANY basic electronic theory you may understand it.
    I would be interested in knowing what exactly is the difference in this particular model, So far the manual shows the same as the rest!
    Please explain why?
    I don't use a G540 and are never likely too draw up a wiring diagram of how they should be connecting it, there have been many on here that could not get it to work through direct wiring, the VFD Drive only needs a switch with no voltage output ( dry contact ) to turn the VFD Drive On / Off if you can make the output of the G540 to suit the VFD Drive then it will work

    OUTPUTS: The G540 has two general purpose outputs called OUTPUT 1 and OUTPUT 2 on the MAIN TERMINAL BLOCK. They are at POSITION 5 and POSITION 6 respectively on the terminal block. These outputs may be used to drive relay coils or for any other purpose. The outputs are rated at 1A and 50VDC maximum. Connect one end of the load to the output and connect the other end of the load to a positive DC voltage. This voltage may be the G540 power supply or it may be a separate power supply having a different voltage.

    ANALOG OUTPUT: This is a 0V to +10V opto-isolated analog output intended for use with VFD drives. VFD OUT goes to 0VDC while the G540 is disabled. Connect VFD GND, VFD OUT and VFD +10V to the VFD drive inputs. Make sure the VFD drive positive voltage does not exceed +12VDC. Do not short VFD OUT to any other terminal. Do not reverse polarity to VFD GND and VFD +10V or the G540 may be damaged.
    Mactec54

  15. #75
    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    I don't use a G540 and are never likely too draw up a wiring diagram of how they should be connecting it, there have been many on here that could not get it to work through direct wiring, the VFD Drive only needs a switch with no voltage output ( dry contact ) to turn the VFD Drive On / Off if you can make the output of the G540 to suit the VFD Drive then it will work

    OUTPUTS: The G540 has two general purpose outputs called OUTPUT 1 and OUTPUT 2 on the MAIN TERMINAL BLOCK. They are at POSITION 5 and POSITION 6 respectively on the terminal block. These outputs may be used to drive relay coils or for any other purpose. The outputs are rated at 1A and 50VDC maximum. Connect one end of the load to the output and connect the other end of the load to a positive DC voltage. This voltage may be the G540 power supply or it may be a separate power supply having a different voltage.

    ANALOG OUTPUT: This is a 0V to +10V opto-isolated analog output intended for use with VFD drives. VFD OUT goes to 0VDC while the G540 is disabled. Connect VFD GND, VFD OUT and VFD +10V to the VFD drive inputs. Make sure the VFD drive positive voltage does not exceed +12VDC. Do not short VFD OUT to any other terminal. Do not reverse polarity to VFD GND and VFD +10V or the G540 may be damaged.


    Is this the correct relay? Still can’t seem to get it to work

  16. #76

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    i tried that rs485 plug in, it says its defective.

  17. #77
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23262

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    I assume you are setting the VFD to RS485?
    BTW that relay appears to be a 48v coil do you have this voltage available?
    Also you don't need anywhere near 30a contacts, a 1amp would be more than ample.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Page 4 of 4 234

Similar Threads

  1. Interface board Rodgers board/ Romaxx Encoder Interface.
    By Ark1 in forum Wood Lathes / Mills
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-23-2013, 10:57 PM
  2. USED CNC EQUIPMENT
    By ptd in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-16-2011, 04:20 PM
  3. CNC EQUIPMENT
    By ptd in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2011, 03:09 AM
  4. What equipment to get?
    By outsider787 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-25-2011, 05:02 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •